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IDAPA 17 – INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION  

17.0209 – MEDICAL FEES  

NOTICE OF RULE CHANGE 

 

 

031. ACCEPTABLE CHARGES FOR MEDICAL SERVICES PROVIDED BY PHYSICIANS UNDER 

THE IDAHO WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW. 

Pursuant to Section 72-508 and Section 72-803, Idaho Code, the Industrial Commission (hereinafter “the 

Commission”) hereby adopts the following rule for determining acceptable charges for medical services provided by 

physicians under the Idaho Workers' Compensation Law. (4-7-11) 

 

 01. Acceptable Charge.  Payors shall pay providers the acceptable charge for medical services 

provided by physicians. (4-7-11) 

 

 02. Adoption of Standard for Physicians. The Commission hereby adopts the Resource-Based 

Relative Value Scale (RBRVS), published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services, as amended, as the standard to be used for determining the acceptable charge for 

medical services provided under the Idaho Workers' Compensation Law by physicians. (4-7-11) 

 

 03. Conversion Factors. The following conversion factors shall be applied to the fully-implemented 

facility or non-facility Relative Value Unit (RVU) as determined by place of service found in the latest RBRVS, as 

amended, that was published before December 31 of the previous calendar year for a medical service identified by a 

code assigned to that service in the latest edition of the Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology (CPT), published 

by the American Medical Association, as amended: 

 

 

MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULE 

SERVICE 

CATEGORY 
CODE RANGE(S) DESCRIPTION 

CONVERSION 

FACTOR 

Anesthesia 00000 - 09999 Anesthesia $60.33 

Surgery - 

 

Group One 

22000 - 22999 

23000 - 24999 

25000 - 27299 

27300 - 27999 

29800 - 29999 

61000 - 61999 

62000 - 62259 

63000 - 63999 

Spine 

Shoulder, Upper Arm, & Elbow 

Forearm, Wrist, Hand, Pelvis & Hip 

Leg, Knee, & Ankle 

Endoscopy & Arthroscopy 

Skull, Meninges & Brain 

Repair, Neuroendoscopy & Shunts 

Spine & Spinal Cord 

$140.00 

Surgery - 

Group Two 

28000 - 28999 

64550 - 64999 

Foot & Toes 

Nerves & Nervous System 
$129.00 

Surgery - 

Group Three 

13000 - 19999 

20650 - 21999 

Integumentary System 

Musculoskeletal System 
$113.52 
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Surgery - 

Group Four 

10000 - 12999 

20000 - 20615 

29000 - 29799 

30000 - 39999 

40000 - 49999 

50000 - 59999 

60000 - 60999 

62260 - 62999 

64000 - 64549 

65000 - 69999 

Integumentary System 

Musculoskeletal System 

Casts & Strapping 

Respiratory & Cardiovascular 

Digestive System 

Urinary System 

Endocrine System 

Spine & Spinal Cord 

Nerves & Nervous System 

Eye & Ear 

$87.72 

Radiology 70000 - 79999 Radiology $88.54 

Pathology & 

Laboratory 
80000 - 89999 Pathology & Laboratory To Be Determined 

Medicine - 

Group One 

90000 - 90799 

94000 - 94999 

97000 - 97799 

97800 - 98999 

Immunization, Injections, & Infusions 

Pulmonary / Pulse Oximetry 

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation 

Acupuncture, Osteopathy, & Chiropractic 

 

$47.00 

Medicine - 

Group Two 

90800 - 92999 

93000 - 93999 

 

95000 - 96020 

96040 - 96999 

99000 - 99607 

Psychiatry & Medicine 

Cardiography, Catheterization, & Vascular 

Studies 

Allergy / Neuromuscular Procedures 

Assessments & Special Procedures 

E / M & Miscellaneous Services 

$68.50 

   (7/1/12) 

 

 04. Anesthesiology. The Conversion Factor for the Anesthesiology CPT Codes shall be multiplied by 

the Anesthesia Base Units assigned to that CPT Code by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services as of December 31 of the previous calendar year, plus the allowable time 

units reported for the procedure. Time units are computed by dividing reported time by fifteen (15) minutes. Time 

units will not be used for CPT Code 01996. (4-7-11) 

 

 05. Adjustment of Conversion Factors. The conversion factors set out in this rule shall be adjusted each 

fiscal year (FY) by the Commission to reflect changes in inflation or market conditions in accordance with Section 

72-803, Idaho Code.  (4-7-11)  

  

 06. Services Without CPT Code, RVU or Conversion Factor. The acceptable charge for medical 

services that do not have a current CPT code, a currently assigned RVU, or a conversion factor will be the reasonable 

charge for that service, based upon the usual and customary charge and other relevant evidence, as determined by the 

Commission. Where a service with a CPT Code, RVU, and conversion factor is, nonetheless, claimed to be 

exceptional or unusual, the Commission may, notwithstanding the conversion factor for that service set out in 

Subsection 031.03, above, determine the acceptable charge for that service, based on all relevant evidence in 

accordance with the procedures set out in Section 034, below. (4-7-11) 

 

 07. Coding. The Commission will generally follow the coding guidelines published by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services and by the American Medical Association, including the use of modifiers. The 

procedure with the largest RVU will be the primary procedure and will be listed first on the claim form. Modifiers will 

be reimbursed as follows: (4-7-11) 

 

 a. Modifier 50: Additional fifty percent (50%) for bilateral procedure. (4-7-11) 

 

 b. Modifier 51: Fifty percent (50%) of secondary procedure. This modifier will be applied to each 
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medical or surgical procedure rendered during the same session as the primary procedure. (4-7-11) 

 

 c. Modifier 80: Twenty-five percent (25%) of coded procedure. (4-7-11) 

 

 d. Modifier 81: Fifteen percent (15%) of coded procedure. This modifier applies to MD and non-MD 

assistants.  (4-7-11) 

 

 

 

032. ACCEPTABLE CHARGES FOR MEDICAL SERVICES PROVIDED BY HOSPITALS AND 

AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTERS UNDER THE IDAHO WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW. 

 

Pursuant to Section 72-508 and Section 72-803, Idaho Code, the Commission hereby adopts the following rule for 

determining acceptable charges for medical services provided by hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers under the 

Idaho Workers' Compensation Law. (1-1-12) 

 

 01.  Acceptable Charge. Payors shall pay providers the acceptable charge for medical services provided 

by hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers. (1-1-12) 

 

 02.  Adoption of Standards for Hospitals and ASCs. The following standards shall be used to 

determine the acceptable charge for hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers. (1-1-12) 

 

 a.  Critical Access and Rehabilitation Hospitals. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for 

inpatient and outpatient services provided by a critical access or rehabilitation hospital is ninety percent (90%) of the 

reasonable charge. Implantable hardware charges shall be reimbursed at the rate of the actual cost plus fifty percent 

(50%).   (1-1-12) 

 

 b.  Hospital Inpatient Services. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for inpatient 

services provided by hospitals, other than critical access and rehabilitation hospitals, is calculated by multiplying the 

base rate by the current MS-DRG weight for that service. The base rate for inpatient services is ten thousand dollars 

($10,000). Inpatient services that do not have a relative weight shall be paid at eighty-five percent (85%) of the 

reasonable charge; however, implantable hardware charges billed for services without an MS-DRG weight shall be 

reimbursed at the rate of actual cost plus fifty percent (50%).  (1-1-12) 

 

 c.  Hospital Outpatient and Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC) Services. The standard for determining 

the acceptable charge for outpatient services provided by hospitals (other than critical access and rehabilitation 

hospitals) and for services provided by ambulatory surgical centers is calculated by multiplying the base rate by the 

Medicare Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) APC weight in effect on the first day of January of 

the current calendar year. The base rate for hospital outpatient services is one hundred and thirty eight dollars ($138). 

The base rate for ASC services is ninety dollars ($90). (1-1-12) 

 

 i. Medical services for which there is no APC weight listed shall be reimbursed at seventy-five percent 

(75%) of the reasonable charge. (3/29/12) 

 

 ii. Status code N items (other than implantable hardware) or items with no CPT or Healthcare 

Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code shall receive no payment. (1-1-12) 

 

 iii. Two or more medical procedures with a status code T on the same claim shall be reimbursed with 

the highest weighted code paid at one hundred percent (100%) of the APC calculated amount and all other status code 

T items paid at fifty percent (50%). (1-1-12) 

 

 iv. Status code Q items with an assigned APC weight will not be discounted. (1-1-12) 

 

 d. Hospitals Outside of Idaho. Reimbursement for services provided by hospitals outside the state of 

Idaho may be based upon the agreement of the parties. If there is no agreement, services shall be paid in accordance 

with the workers’ compensation fee schedule in effect in the state in which services are rendered. If there is no hospital 



INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION   17.02.09 
Medical Fees   2012 Rulemaking 

 Page 4 IAC 2012 

fee schedule in effect in such state, or if the fee schedule in that state does not allow reimbursement for the services 

rendered, reimbursement shall be paid in accordance with these rules.  (1-1-12) 

 

 e. Additional Hospital Payments. When the charge for a medical service provided by a hospital (other 

than a critical access or rehabilitation hospital) meets the following standards, additional payment shall be made for 

that service, as indicated. (1-1-12) 

 

 i. Inpatient Threshold Exceeded. When the charge for a hospital inpatient MS-DRG coded service 

exceeds the sum of thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) plus the payment calculated under the provisions of 

Subparagraph 032.02.b. of this rule, then the total payment for that service shall be the sum of the MS-DRG payment 

and the amount charged above that threshold multiplied by seventy-five percent (75%). Implantable charges shall be 

excluded from the calculation for an additional inpatient payment under this Subparagraph. (1-1-12) 

 

 ii. Inpatient Implantable Hardware. Hospitals may seek additional reimbursement beyond the 

MS-DRG payment for invoiced implantable hardware where the aggregate invoice cost is greater than ten thousand 

dollars ($10,000). Additional reimbursement shall be the invoice cost plus an amount which is equal to ten percent 

(10%) of the invoice cost, but which does not exceed three thousand dollars ($3,000). Handling and freight charges 

shall be included in invoice cost. (1-1-12) 

 

 iii. Outpatient Implantable Hardware. Hospitals and ASCs may seek additional reimbursement beyond 

the APC payment for invoiced implantable hardware where the aggregate invoice cost is greater than five hundred 

dollars ($500). Additional reimbursement shall be the invoice cost plus an amount which is equal to ten percent (10%) 

of the invoice cost, but which does not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000). Handling and freight charges shall be 

included in invoice cost. (1-1-12)   (        ) 

 

 03. Disputes. The Commission shall determine the acceptable charge for hospital and ASC services that 

are disputed based on all relevant evidence in accordance with the procedures set out in Section 034 of this rule. 

   (1-1-12) 

 

 04. Adjustment of Hospital and ASC Base Rates. The Commission may periodically adjust the base 

rates set out in Subparagraphs 032.02.b. and 032.02.c. of this rule to reflect changes in inflation or market conditions. 

   (1-1-12) 

 

 


