Administering Idaho's Workers' Compensation Law

About Us

Vision (top)

To be the premier administrator of workers’ compensation and crime victims’ programs in the nation.

Mission (top)

To impartially and efficiently administer the Idaho Workers’ Compensation Law in a manner that ensures compliance with insurance requirements, prompt and accurate benefit payments, equitable judicial review and dispute resolution, and quality vocational rehabilitation services for injured workers.

To assist innocent victims of crime recover from the traumatic effects of crime by providing financial assistance and community education in accordance with state and federal law.

Guiding Principles (top)

  •  Quality Customer Service
  •  Impartiality
  •  Accessible Services
  •  Ethical Practices and Behavior
  •  Cost Effective and Efficient Operations

Divisions (top)

The Industrial Commission is comprised of four divisions: Compensation, Rehabilitation, Adjudication, and the Crime Victims Compensation Program.

The Idaho Industrial Commission offers rehabilitation services for injured workers. Employees are the state’s greatest business asset. It is essential to the fiscal health of the state to quickly return injured workers to the labor force.

The Idaho Industrial Commission is an administrative court, and through the Adjudication Division, it provides decisions in workers’ compensation disputes between workers and employers. The Commission is also the upper level reviewing authority for unemployment insurance decisions issued by the Idaho Department of Commerce & Labor.

The Idaho Crime Victims Compensation Program was established in 1986 to provide assistance to crime victims who suffer personal injuries. Since it was established, the Program has served over 21,000 victims of crime in Idaho without relying on a single tax dollar.

Employment Opportunities (top)

Search for jobs with the Industrial Commission or at other state agencies.

Commissioners (top)

The three commissioners of the Idaho Industrial Commission are appointed by the governor to serve staggered six-year terms. Traditionally, one is appointed to represent employers, one is appointed to represent employees, and the third is an attorney. No more than two commissioners may represent a single political party. The commissioners elect their own chairman. Current members of the Commission are:

Thomas E. Limbaugh, Chairman

Employer Representative; Term ends January 13, 2019

Thomas P. Baskin

Attorney Representative; Term ends January 13, 2021

Aaron White

Employee Representative; Term ends January 16, 2024

Timeline of Commissioners (top)

George H. Fisher, 1918-1923
E. F. Caton, 1918-1919
H. H. Barnes, January 1918-July 1919
W. H. Casaday, 1918-1919
Frank J. Clayton, 1919-1921
Lawrence E. Worstell, 1919-1931
Charles E. Duffy, 1921-1923
Joel Brown, 1923-1933
Frank Langley, 1931-1943
W. L. Robinson, 1933-1945
G. W. Suppiger, 1923-1947
B. W. Oppenheim, 1943-1968
Leo Houtz, 1945-1969
Claude R. Hunter, 1947-1969
Will S. Defenbach, 1968-1990
Richard S. Brown, 1969-1970
Gerald A. Geddes, 1969-1992
Lawrence Sirhall, 1971-1988
Larry J. Jackson, 1989
Logan E. Lanham, 1990-1992
Betty Richardson, 1991-1993
Herb Carlson, 1993-1994
James E. Kerns, 1993-1998
Stephen J. Lord, 1994-1996
Rachel Gilbert, 1995-2000
James F. Kile, 1997-2009
R. D. Maynard, 1999-2018
Thomas E. Limbaugh, 2001-Present
Thomas P. Baskin, 2009-Present
Aaron White, 2018-Present

CFOI (top)

The Industrial Commission has released the 2007 CFOI data regarding occupational deaths.CFOI data are published annually with a one time revision of the data approximately eight months after the initial release. The revised data may include additional records or corrections in coding of the data based on new information received since the initial closeout.

Advisory Committee (top)

An Advisory Committee has been established to provide the Industrial Commission with informed recommendations and advice on issues affecting the Idaho workers' compensation system. The membership is made up of experienced workers' compensation professionals representing a variety of perspectives.