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032. ACCEPTABLE CHARGES FOR MEDICAL SERVICES PROVIDED BY HOSPITALS AND 
AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTERS UNDER THE IDAHO WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW.  
Pursuant to Section 72-508 and Section 72-803, Idaho Code, the Commission hereby adopts the following rule for 
determining acceptable charges for medical services provided by hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers under the 
Idaho Workers' Compensation Law.         (1-1-12) 
 

01.  Acceptable Charge. Payors shall pay providers the acceptable charge for medical services 
provided by hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers.       (1-1-12) 

 
02. Adoption of Standards for Hospitals and ASCs. The following standards shall be used to 

determine the acceptable charge for hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers.     (1-1-12) 
 
a. Critical Access and Rehabilitation Hospitals. The standard for determining the acceptable charge 

for inpatient and outpatient services provided by a critical access or rehabilitation hospital is ninety percent (90%) of 
the reasonable charge. Implantable hardware charges shall be reimbursed at the rate of the actual cost plus fifty 
percent (50%).           (1-1-12) 

 
b. Hospital Inpatient Services. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for inpatient 

services provided by hospitals, other than critical access and rehabilitation hospitals, is calculated by multiplying the 
base rate by the current MS-DRG weight for that service. The base rate for inpatient services is ten thousand dollars 
($10,000). Inpatient services that do not have a relative weight shall be paid at eighty-five percent (85%) of the 
reasonable charge; however, implantable hardware charges billed for services without an MS-DRG weight shall be 
reimbursed at the rate of actual cost plus fifty percent (50%).      (1-1-12) 

 
c. Hospital Outpatient and Ambulatory Surgical Center (ASC) Services. The standard for 

determining the acceptable charge for outpatient services provided by hospitals (other than critical access and 
rehabilitation hospitals) and for services provided by ambulatory surgical centers is calculated by multiplying the 
base rate by the Medicare Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) APC weight in effect on the 
first day of January of the current calendar year; however, on and after January 1, 2015, the OPPS APC weight in 
effect on January 1, 2014 shall be used. The base rate for hospital outpatient services is one hundred and thirty-eight 
dollars ($138). The base rate for ASC services is ninety dollars ($90).             (1-1-12)(_______)T 

 
i. Medical services for which there is no APC weight listed shall be reimbursed at seventy-five 

percent (75%) of the reasonable charge.        (7-1-12) 
 
ii. Status code N items (other than implantable hardware) or items with no CPT or Healthcare 

Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code shall receive no payment.    (1-1-12) 
 
iii. Two (2) or more medical procedures with a status code T on the same claim shall be reimbursed 

with the highest weighted code paid at one hundred percent (100%) of the APC calculated amount and all other 
status code T items paid at fifty percent (50%).       (1-1-12) 

 
iv. Status code Q items with an assigned APC weight will not be discounted.  (1-1-12) 
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