### **IDAPA 17 – INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION**

### **DOCKET NO. 17-0000-2100F (FEE RULE)**

#### NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING - PROPOSED RULEMAKING

**AUTHORITY:** In compliance with Sections 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 72-301, 72-301A, 72-304, 72-327, 72-432, 72-508, 72-528, 72-602, 72-803, and 72-806, Idaho Code.

**PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE:** Oral comment concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled in accordance with Section 67-5222, Idaho Code.

**DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY:** The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

This proposed rulemaking publishes the following rule chapters previously submitted to and reviewed by the Idaho Legislature under IDAPA 17, rules of the Industrial Commission:

#### **IDAPA 17**

• 17.01.01, Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law.

**FEE SUMMARY:** This rulemaking does not impose a fee or charge, or increase a fee or charge, beyond what was previously submitted to and reviewed by the Idaho Legislature in the prior rules. The \$250 application fees charged to employers seeking approval to become self-insured is needed to defray added costs incurred by the Commission in evaluating these applications.

**FISCAL IMPACT:** The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state general fund greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) during the fiscal year: This rulemaking is not anticipated to have any fiscal impact on the state general fund because the FY2022 budget has already been set by the Legislature, and approved by the Governor, anticipating the existence of the rule and fee(s) being reauthorized by this rulemaking.

**NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING:** Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not feasible because engaging in negotiated rulemaking for all previously existing rules will inhibit the agency from carrying out its ability to serve the citizens of Idaho and to protect their health, safety, and welfare.

Negotiated rulemaking conducted outside of this omnibus rulemaking under docket 17-0101-2101 published in the June 2021 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 21-6, pages 54-55, and docket 17-0101-2102 published in the July 2021 Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 21-7 pages 27-28 and affects the following rule chapter included in this proposed rulemaking: IDAPA 17.01.01.

**INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE:** Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, incorporated material may be obtained or electronically accessed as provided in the text of the proposed rule attached hereto.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Kamerron Slay, Commission Secretary, (208) 334-6017 or kamerron.slay@iic.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding the proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and must be delivered within twenty-one (21) days after publication of this Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin. Oral presentation of comments may be requested pursuant to Section 67-5222(2), Idaho Code, and must be delivered to the undersigned within fourteen (14) days of the date of publication of this Notice in the Idaho Administrative Bulletin.

DATED this October 20, 2021.

Mindy Montgomery, Director Industrial Commission 11321 W. Chinden Blvd. P.O. Box 83720 Boise, Idaho 83720-0041 Phone: 208-334-6000 Fax: 208-334-2321

# Please Return Proof to OARC by 5:00 p.m., Thursday, October 14, 2021

### **IDAPA 17 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION**

### 17.01.01 - ADMINISTRATIVE RULES UNDER THE WORKER'S COMPENSATION LAW

	apter is a	LAUTHORITY. dopted under the legal authority of 72-301, 72-301A, 72-304, 72-327, 72-432, 72-508, 72-52, 72-806, Idaho Code.	28, 72-
001.	TITLE	AND SCOPE.	
IDAPA	<b>01.</b> 17, Title	<b>Title</b> . The title of this chapter is "Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation 01, Chapter 01.	Law"
	02.	<b>Scope</b> . This chapter includes the Industrial Commission's worker's compensation rules.	( )
<b>002.</b> The Ind this Cha	ustrial Co	TEN INTERPRETATIONS.  commission uses the following guidelines for implementing the EDI reporting requirements set	out in
		<b>EDI Guide and Tables</b> . The Idaho Industrial Commission Claims EDI Implementation Guid Tables ("EDI Guide and Tables"). The Idaho Industrial Commission Claims EDI Implement partner Tables are available on the Commission's website at https://iic.idaho.gov/.	
("EDI	[mplemer	<b>EDI Implementation Guide</b> . International Association of Industrial Accidents Board AIABC) EDI Claims Release 3.0 or, after December 1, 2022, Release 3.1, Implementation natation Guide"). The IAIABC Claims Release 3.0 and Release 3.1 Implementation Guide AIABC website at https://www.iaiabc.org.	Guide
003 0	09.	(RESERVED)	
		ITIONS. set forth in Chapter 72, Idaho Code apply to these rules. In addition, the following terms had below:	ve the
	01.	Adjustor. Means an individual who adjusts worker's compensation claims.	( )
services	02.	Ambulatory Payment Classification. Means the payment system adopted by CMS for output	patient (
any con	03.	Available Funds. Means a sum of money to which a Charging Lien may attach. It does not in paid or not disputed to be owed prior to Claimant's agreement to retain the attorney.	nclude
only.	04.	Ambulatory Surgery Center. Means a facility providing medical services on an outpatient	t basis
		<b>Approval by Commission</b> . Means the Commission has approved attorney fees in conjunction pensation or an LSS or otherwise in accordance with Section 802 of this rule upon a proper sheeking to have the fees approved.	
	<b>06.</b> ovided by di-Span.	<b>Average Wholesale Price</b> . Means the average wholesale price for medicine obtained from p the original manufacturer of that medicine to industry-wide compilers of drug prices, e.g., Red	
	07.	<b>Charge</b> . Means the expense or cost. For hospitals and ASCs, "charge" means the total charge	e. ( )
billed b	<b>a.</b> y the Prov	Acceptable charge. Means a charge calculated in compliance with Section 803 of this rule vider, whichever is lower, or the charge agreed to pursuant to a written contract.	or as
determi	b.	Customary charge. Means a charge that has an upper limit no higher than the 90th percent	ile ac

Section 000 Page 2516

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

exceed t	<b>c.</b> the "custo	Reasonable charge. Means a charge that does not exceed the Provider's "usual" charge and does omary" charge. (	s not
service t	<b>d.</b> to non-in	Usual charge. Means the most frequent charge made by an individual Provider for a given med dustrially injured patients.	dical
Compen	<b>08.</b> nsation La	<b>Charging Lien</b> . Means a lien against a Claimant's right to any compensation under the Worlaw, which may be asserted by an attorney who is able to demonstrate that:	ker's )
	a.	There are compensation benefits available for distribution on equitable principles; (	)
attorney	<b>b.</b> seeks to	The services of the attorney operated primarily or substantially to secure the fund out of which be paid;	n the
client;	c.	It was agreed that counsel anticipated payment from compensation funds rather than from	the
fund wa	<b>d.</b> s raised;	The Claim is limited to costs, fees, or other disbursements incurred in the case through which and	the )
Lien.	e.	There are equitable considerations that necessitate the recognition and application of the Char	ging )
Injury o	<b>09.</b> r Illness (	<b>Claim</b> . Means filing for worker's compensation benefits through a Form 1A-1, First Report (FROI) or an application for hearing, referred to as a Complaint, with the Commission.	rt of )
indepen	<b>10.</b> dent adju	Claims Administrator. Means an organization, including insurers, third party administrates, or self-insured employers, that services worker's compensation claims.	tors,
their age	11. ents, such	<b>Claimant</b> . Means a person who has filed a Claim for worker's compensation benefits and include a sattorneys.	udes )
	12.	Commission. Means the Idaho Industrial Commission. (	)
CMS.	13.	Critical Access Hospital. Means a hospital currently designated as a critical access hospital (	l by
Associa	<b>14.</b> tion.	Current Procedural Terminology. Means the medical code published by the American Medical code pu	dical
or occup	15. pational d	<b>Death Claim</b> . Means a Claim arising from the death of a worker as a result of a work-related in lisease.	ijury )
format.	16.	Electronic Data Interchange. Means a computer to computer exchange of data in a standard	lized )
the Idah	17. o Rules o	<b>Fee Agreement</b> . Means a written agreement between a worker and an attorney in conformity of Professional Conduct. (	with
fee agre Idaho R	a. ement ar ules of Pr	Reasonable, as used in Section 802 of this rule, means that an attorney's fees are consistent with an are to be satisfied from Available Funds, subject to the element of reasonableness container rofessional Conduct 1.5.	
		<b>First Degree of Consanguinity</b> . Means the relationship between parents and their children who or affinity. Adopted or step children and their adoptive or step parents are deemed to be within insanguinity.	ether n the )

Section 010 Page 2517

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE (	CODE
Industrial Commission	

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

- **19. First Report of Injury**. Means the first filing of information with the Industrial Commission that a reportable workplace injury has occurred or an occupational disease has been manifested, as required by Section 72-602(1), Idaho Code; filed in accordance with these rules.
- **20.** Gross Direct Premiums Written. Means the gross sum of premiums on policies written, without any deduction for refunds or repayments resulting from cancellations. It does not include premiums on contracts between insurers or reinsurers. For all policies written, gross direct premiums written may reflect experience modifications, deviations, and retrospective rating.
- **21. Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System**. Means the set of healthcare procedure codes based on the American Medical Association's Current Procedural Terminology.
- **22. Hospital**. Means an acute care facility providing medical or rehabilitation services on an inpatient and outpatient basis.
- **23. IAIABC EDI Release 3.0 or 3.1**. Means the IAIABC authored EDI Release 3.0 or 3.1 standards that cover the transmission of claims (FROI and SROI) information through electronic reporting.
- **24. Impairment Rated Claim**. Means those claims in which the Provider establishes an impairment rating for the injured worker.
- 25. Implantable Hardware. Means objects or devices that are made to support, replace, or act as a missing anatomical structure or to support or manage proper biological functions or disease processes and where surgical or medical procedures are needed to insert or apply such devices and surgical or medical procedures are required to remove such devices. The term also includes equipment necessary for the proper operation of the implantable hardware, even if not implanted in the body.
- **26. Indemnity Benefits.** Means payments made to or on behalf of worker's compensation Claimants, including temporary or permanent total or partial disability benefits, death benefits paid to dependents, retraining benefits, and any other type of income benefits, but excluding medical and related benefits. ( )
  - **27. Indemnity Claim.** Means any claim made for the payment of indemnity benefits. (
- **28.** Legacy Claim. Means a FROI that was either filed on paper or electronically prior to the EDI Claims Release 3.1 implementation.
  - 29. Litigated Case. Means a case in which a complaint has been filed.
- **30. Medical Only Claim.** Means the injured worker will not suffer a disability lasting more than five (5) calendar days as a result of a job-related injury or occupational disease, nor be admitted to a hospital as an inpatient.
- 31. Medical Information. Means without limitation, all bills, chart notes, surgical records, testing results, treatment records, hospital records, prescriptions, and medication records relevant to or bearing upon a particular claim for injury or occupational disease.
- **32. Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Group**. Means a system adopted by CMS that groups hospital admissions based on diagnosis codes, surgical procedures, and patient demographics.
- 33. Net Premiums Written. Means the amount of gross direct premiums on policies written less returned premiums and premiums on policies not taken. Paid dividends shall not be deducted for the purposes of calculating net premiums written.
- **34. Payor**. Means the entity that is responsible for making payment to a Provider for services rendered to treat an industrially injured patient and includes self-insured employers, sureties, adjusters, and their agents.

Section 010 Page 2518

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

	35. wn direct mployees	<b>Payroll</b> . Means the gross amount paid by an employer for salaries, wages, or commissions employees, but not including any money paid to another entity or received from another entity.		
	36.	Pharmacy. Means a facility as defined in Section 54-1705(29), Idaho Code.	(	)
the Indu Claim fo	<b>37.</b> strial Coror benefits	<b>Supplemental or Subsequent Report of Injury</b> . Means the filing of additional information mmission, regarding benefits paid or changes in the status or condition of an injured work s, as required by Sections 72-602(2), (3), and (4), Idaho Code; filed in accordance with these	er, of	a
course o	of claims d and an	<b>Termination of Disability</b> . Means the date upon which the obligation of the Employer as to duration and amount whether by settlement, decision, or periodic payments in the or processing. If resolved by LSS, the termination of disability shall occur on the date the order approving is filed by the Industrial Commission. If resolved by decision, the terminature on the date the decision resolving all issues becomes final.	ordinaı LSS	ry is
		<b>Time Loss Claim</b> . Means the injured worker will suffer, or has suffered, a disability that last days as a result of a job-related injury or occupational disease, or the injured worker required treatment as a result of such injury or disease.		
has ente	<b>40.</b> red into a	<b>Trading Partner</b> . Means an insurance carrier, self-insured employer, or Claims Administrating Partner Agreement with the Industrial Commission.	itor th	at )
Trading	41. Partner th	<b>Trading Partner Agreement</b> . Means an agreement between the Industrial Commission hat sets out the terms and conditions for the electronic reporting of information to the Comm	n and dission	a i. )
<b>011.</b> The following		VIATIONS. breviations have the meaning set forth below:	(	)
	01.	APC. Means Ambulatory Payment Classification.	(	)
	02.	ASC. Means Ambulatory Surgery Center.	(	)
	03.	AWP. Means Average Wholesale Price.	(	)
	04.	CMS. Means Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.	(	)
	05.	CPT. Means Current Procedural Terminology.	(	)
	06.	EDI. Means Electronic Data Interchange.	(	)
	07.	FROI. Means First Report of Injury.	(	)
	08.	HCPCS. Means Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System.	(	)
	09.	IAIABC. Means International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions.	. (	)
Injury F	<b>10.</b> und.	ISIF. Means the Industrial Special Indemnity Fund, which is commonly referred to as the	Secon	ıd )
	11.	JRP. Means the Commission's Judicial Rules of Judicial Practice and Procedure.	(	)
	12.	LSS. Means Lumps Sum Settlement.	(	)

Section 011 Page 2519

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Industrial Commission			IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law		
	13.	MSDRG. Means Medicare Severity Diagnosis Relate	d Group.	(	)
	14.	NCCI. Means National Council on Compensation Ins	urance.	(	)
	15.	NDC. Means National Drug Code.		(	)
	16.	RBRVS. Means Resource-Based Relative Value Scale	2.	(	)
	17.	RVU. Means Relative Value Unit.		(	)
	18.	SROI. Means Supplemental or Subsequent Report of	Injury.	(	)
the Ind	king befolustrial C	AL CONSTRUCTION.  ore the Industrial Commission should be just, speedy, a Commission may permit deviation from these rules nnecessary, or not in the public interest.			
013 2	200.	(RESERVED)			
201.	RULE	GOVERNING 72-212(5) EXEMPTIONS.			
		<b>Exemptions</b> . Each person who elects to exempt 5 Section 72-212(5), Idaho Code, must file an IC53 Declable on the Commission's website.	themselves from coverage or revolution form with the Industrial Comr	ke th nissi (	neir ion.
		<b>Form</b> . The form must be signed by both the employed form shall be filed with the Commission. Upon appropriate filing for an exemption or revocation of an exemption or revocation of an exemption.	proval by the Commission, the copy		
exempt informa	<b>03.</b> ion. The tion prov	<b>Approval by Commission</b> . The Commission mus Commission may require verification of information stided will void the exemption or revocation.	t approve the exemption or revocasubmitted. Fraud or misrepresentation	ntion n in (	of the )
form wi	<b>04.</b> ith the en	IC53 Form. If the employer is insured, it is the employer's insurance company.	oyer's responsibility to file a copy of the	he IC	C53 )
the prop	<b>05.</b> perly com	Effective Date. The effective date of the exemption upleted form is received by the Commission.	or revocation of exemption shall be	the d	late )
with th employ	<b>06.</b> e Comm ee, which	<b>Exemption Effective</b> . The exemption shall remain in ission, or, termination of employment with the designer occurs first.			
202 3	300.	(RESERVED)			
301.	RULES	GOVERNING QUALIFICATIONS TO WRITE IN	NSURANCE OR SELF-INSURE.		
	<b>01.</b> s compending require	<b>Insurance Carriers</b> . In order to gain approval from the insurance under Section 72-301, Idaho Code, ements:			
and sha	ll initiall	Deposit With State Treasurer. The carrier must receinsurance to underwrite casualty and surety insurance unity deposit security in the amount of two hundred fifty the provisions of Section 72-302, Idaho Code.	der Sections 41-506 and 41-507, Idah	o Co	de,
	b.	Application. To receive approval from the Industrial C	Commission, an insurance carrier must	t sun	nlv

Section 012 Page 2520

### IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 17.01.01 - Administrative Rules **Industrial Commission** Under the Worker's Compensation Law an application with: A statement from the Director of the Idaho Department of Insurance documenting compliance with Paragraph 01.a, above; The latest audited financial statement of said carrier; ii. iii. The name and address of the agent for service of process in Idaho; The name and address of the Claims Administrator employing an Idaho licensed resident adjuster or the insurance carrier's own in-house Idaho adjusting staff with authority to make compensation payments and adjustments of claims arising under the Act. Each Claims Administrator shall have only one (1) mailing address on record at the Commission for claims adjusting purposes. If more than one (1) Claims Administrator is utilized in Idaho, a list of every such Claims Administrator and all corresponding policyholders shall be provided; A statement that the carrier will distribute blank forms that are prescribed by the Commission to its insured; A statement that all surety bonds covering the payment of compensation will be filed with the Idaho State Treasurer for all employers insured. All carriers will use the continuous bond form set out on the Commission's website. A statement that renewal certificates on said bonds will be issued and filed with the Industrial Commission immediately, when and if renewed; A statement that all surety contract cancellations will be canceled in compliance with Section 72-311, Idaho Code; A statement that said carrier will deposit, in addition to other security required by this rule, further security equal to all unpaid outstanding awards of compensation; A statement that said carrier will comply with the statutes of the state of Idaho and rules of the Industrial Commission and that payments of compensation shall be sure and certain and not unnecessarily delayed; and A statement that the carrier will make reports to the Commission as are required. xi. Self-Insured Employers. In order to gain approval from the Industrial Commission to self-insure under Section 72-301, Idaho Code, an employer shall comply with the following requirements: Payroll. Have an average annual Idaho Payroll over the preceding three (3) years of at least four million dollars (\$4,000,000). Application. Submit a completed application, available from the Industrial Commission's Fiscal Department, along with the application fee of two hundred fifty dollars (\$250), to the Idaho Industrial Commission, Attention: Fiscal Department. Documentation. Submit documentation demonstrating the sound financial condition of the employer, such as the most recent CPA reviewed or, if available, audited, financial statement. Claims Adjusting. Designate in writing a Claims Administrator employing an Idaho licensed resident adjuster including name and address. Each Claims Administrator shall have only one (1) mailing address on record at the Commission for claims adjusting purposes.

Previous Claims. Provide a history of all worker's compensation claims filed with the employer or

the employer's worker's compensation carrier, as well as all compensation paid, during the previous five (5) calendar

Section 301 Page 2521

years.

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

f. copies of all prop	Excess Insurance. Provide an insurance plan that must include excess insurance coverage possed policies of excess worker's compensation insurance coverage.	ge and
<b>g.</b> rates for the prop	Actuarial Study. Provide an actuarial study prepared by a qualified actuary determining adoosed self-funded worker's compensation plan based upon a fifty percent (50%) confidence levels (50%) confid	
h. advantages and d	Feasibility Study. Provide a self-insurance feasibility study that includes an analysis disadvantages of self insurance as compared to current coverage, and the related costs and benefits to be a self-insurance as compared to current coverage.	
i. to be deposited u	Custodial Agreement. Set up a custodial agreement with the State Treasurer for securities reunder Sections 72-301 and 72-302, Idaho Code.	quired
j.	Supplemental Information. Provide supplemental information as requested.	( )
as the Commission hundred fifty tho employer's avera	Initial Security Deposit. Prior to final approval, deposit an initial security deposit with the in the form permitted by Section 72-301, Idaho Code, or a self-insurer's bond in substantially the on's self-insurer's compensation bond, available on the Commission's website, in the amount outside the self-insurer's compensation bond, available on the Commission's website, in the amount outside the self-insurer's compensation by the first ten million dollars (\$10,000,000) age annual Payroll in the state of Idaho for the three (3) preceding years; along with such add the required by the Commission based on prior claims history.	e form of one of the
joint venture or a the parent comp members or the p that joint venture current sample I	Initial Guaranty Agreement. The Commission may allow or, where financial reports or he high risk industry of the employer indicate the need, require an employer that is organized wholly owned subsidiary to provide a guaranty agreement from each member of the joint ventors. This guaranty agreement confirms the continuing agreement of each of the joint ventors to company to guarantee the payment of all Idaho worker's compensation claims of employe or subsidiary employer. The guaranty agreement shall be in substantially the same form Indemnity and Guaranty Agreement and, as applicable, the companion Consent of the Boble on the Commission's website.	ed as a ture or renture of the enture of as the
m.	Written Approval. Obtain written approval from the Industrial Commission.	( )
<b>n.</b> Code, does not h	Idaho National Laboratory. An employer meeting the requirements of Section 72-301A, ave to comply with the requirements of Paragraphs 302.02.a., 02.f., 02.i., and 02.k., above.	Idaho
302. RULES SELF-INSURE.	GOVERNING CONTINUING REQUIREMENTS TO UNDERWRITE INSURANCE	E OR
<b>01.</b> with the following	<b>Insurance Carriers</b> . An insurance carrier approved under IDAPA 17.01.01.301.01 shall car requirements:	omply
a.	Maintain Statutory Security Deposits with the State Treasurer.	( )
i. amount of twent hundred and fifty	Each insurance carrier shall maintain with the Idaho State Treasurer a security deposit ty-five thousand dollars (\$25,000) if approved by the Commission prior to July 15, 1988, or thousand dollars (\$250,000) if approved subsequently.	
form permitted by website. If a sur authorized to train	In addition to the security required in Subsection 01.a.i, of this rule, each insurance carrient equal to the total unpaid outstanding awards of said insurance carrier. Such deposit shall be by Section 72-301, Idaho Code. Surety bonds shall be in the form available on the Commistrety bond is deposited, the surety company shall be completely independent of the princip neact such business in the state of Idaho. A partial release of security deposited hereunder ming and approved by the Commission.	in the ssion's al and

Section 302 Page 2522

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

madothar Comm	modern Grade the Herker of Compensation	<u>_</u> u	
reserve book-entry	Securities which are maintained to satisfy the requirements of this rule may be held in the paysystem, as defined in Section 41-2870(4), Idaho Code, and interests in such securities not be securities in the federal reserve book-entry system without physical delivery of certifications.	nay 1	be
	Appoint Agent for Service of Process. Each insurance carrier shall appoint the Director urance as its agent to receive service of legal process.	of tl (	he )
	Maintain Resident Idaho Office. Each insurance carrier shall maintain a Claims Admini to licensed resident adjuster or the carrier's own adjusting offices or officers residing in Idaho		or )
	Each authorized insurance carrier shall notify the Commission Secretary in writing of any desident adjuster(s) for every insured Idaho employer within fifteen (15) days of such change		ge )
all claims adjusted	Each authorized insurance carrier will ensure that every in-state adjuster can classify and in a lon behalf of said insurance carrier, and that the in-state adjuster will provide such information in the information of the		
(1) I	Investigate and adjust all claims for compensation;	(	)
(2) I	Pay all compensation benefits due;	(	)
which may be issu	Accept service of claims, applications for hearings, orders of the Commission, and all part under the Worker's Compensation Law;	oroce (	ss )
(4) I	Enter into compensation agreements and LSSs with Claimants;	(	)
(5) I under the Worker's	Provide at the employer's expense necessary forms to any employee who wishes to file a s Compensation Law.	Clai (	m )
	Supply Forms. Each insurance carrier shall distribute the required forms prescribed employers it insures. A list of required forms is available on the Commission's website.	by tl (	he )
the time prescribed	Comply with Industrial Commission Reporting Requirements. Each insurance carrier shall, d, file such reports and respond to such information requests as the Commission may requireming matters under the Worker's Compensation Law.		
<b>f.</b> I	Report Proof of Coverage.	(	)
receive, process, a	Each insurance carrier shall report all proof of coverage to NCCI. NCCI is the designated and forward the proof of coverage information required by these rules to the Commission mmission's designated agent is available on the Commission's website.	gent n. Tl (	to he )
transaction standa cancellations, and standards is availa	The Industrial Commission adopts the IAIABC's electronic proof of coverage record layoutds as the required reporting mechanism for new policies, renewal policies, endorse non-renewals of policies. A copy of the record layout, data element requirements, and transable on the Commission's website. Each insurance carrier shall report data for all man rrent IAIABC proof of coverage record layout and transaction standards on each policy repo	ment saction dato orted.	ts, on ry
	The most recent proof of coverage information contained in the Industrial Commission's date to be correct for the purpose of determining the insurance carrier providing coverage.	ataba (	se )
	Report New Policy, Renewal Policy, and Endorsement Information Within Thirty Days shall report the issuance of any new worker's compensation policy, renewal policy, or endors		

Section 302 Page 2523

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

Industrial Commission to the Industrial Commission or its designated agent within thirty (30) days of the effective date of the transaction. Report Cancellation and Non-Renewal of Policy Within Time Prescribed by Statute. Each insurance carrier shall report the cancellation and/or nonrenewal of any worker's compensation insurance policy to the Industrial Commission or its designated agent within the time frames prescribed by Section 72-311, Idaho Code. Receipt of cancellation or nonrenewal notices by the Commission's designated agent shall be deemed to have been received by the Commission. Report Election of Coverage on Form IC52 or Similar Format. Each insurance carrier shall report election of coverage or revocation of election of coverage on or in a format substantially the same as Form IC52, "Election of Coverage," available on the Commission's website. Report Deductible Policy. On or before March 3rd of each year, every insurance carrier shall submit a report of all deductible policies that were issued and in effect during the previous calendar year. That report shall be submitted in a form substantially similar to the current "Deductible Policy Report" available on the Commission's website. The report shall include the following information: insured name, policy number, effective and expiration dates, deductible amount, the premium charged for the policy before credit for the deductible, and the final premium after credit for the deductible. Report Outstanding Awards. Each insurance carrier shall report to the Industrial Commission at the end of each calendar quarter, or more often as required by the Commission, any outstanding award. The report of outstanding awards shall be filed with the Industrial Commission by the end of the month following the end of each calendar quarter. The report shall be filed even if there are no outstanding awards. In that event, the carrier shall certify the fact that there are no outstanding awards to be reported. The report shall be submitted on or in a format that is substantially the same as the current Form IC36A, "Report of Outstanding Awards - Insurance Carriers" available on the Commission's website. The report may be produced as a computerized spreadsheet or database printout. The report shall be signed and certified to be correct by a corporate officer. If an insurance carrier has designated more than one adjuster for worker's compensation claims in Idaho, a corporate officer of the insurance carrier shall prepare, certify, and file a consolidated report of outstanding awards. The report shall list all outstanding awards, commencing with the calendar quarter during which the award is made or benefits are first paid, whichever occurs earlier. Comply with Law and Rules. Each insurance carrier shall comply with the statutes of the state of Idaho and the rules of the Industrial Commission to ensure that payments of compensation shall be sure and certain and not unnecessarily delayed. **Self-Insured Employers**. A self-insured employer approved under Subsection 301.02 shall comply with the following requirements: Payroll Requirements. Maintain an average annual Idaho Payroll over the preceding three (3) years of at least four million dollars (\$4,000,000). Any self-insured employer that does not meet the Payroll requirement of this rule for two consecutive semi-annual premium tax reporting periods shall be allowed to maintain their selfinsured status for six (6) months from the end of the last reporting period in order to permit them time to increase their Payroll or obtain worker's compensation coverage with an insurance carrier authorized to write worker's compensation insurance in the state of Idaho. b. Security Deposit with Treasurer.

Maintain a primary security deposit with the Idaho State Treasurer in the form permitted by Section

Section 302 Page 2524

IDAPA 17.01.01 - Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

72-301, Idaho Code, a self-insurer's bond form available on the Commission's website, or in substantially the same form, or in such other form approved by the Commission, in the amount of one hundred fifty thousand dollars (\$150,000), plus five percent (5%) of the employers' average applied Payroll in the state of Idaho for the three (3)

(\$150,000), plus five percent (5%) of the employers average annual Payroll in the state of Idaho for the three of preceding years, not in excess of ten million dollars (\$10,000,000). If a surety bond is deposited, the surety compa shall be completely independent of the principal and authorized to transact such business in the state of Idaho. addition thereto, the self-insured employer shall deposit additional security in such amount as the Commissi determines is necessary to secure the self-insured employer's total unpaid liability for compensation under the Worker's Compensation Law. No approved security shall be accepted for deposit above its par value. Addition deposits of approved security may be required semi-annually if the market value of an approved investment fabelow its par value or if the total value of the employer's security deposit falls below the total security required to maintained on deposit when calculated in accordance with this rule.	In on the nal
ii. Self-insured employers shall receive a credit for the primary security deposit against the se insured employer's obligation to post the additional security required by Subparagraph 302.02.b.i. of this rule. (	lf- )
iii. Excess insurance coverage approved by the Commission may apply as a credit against the se insured employer's obligation to post the additional security required by Subparagraph 302.02.b.i. of this rule. T Commission must be provided with thirty (30) days advance written notice of any change or cancellation of approved excess insurance policy. No credit will be given for any excess insurance coverage provided by a surplines carrier, as described in Chapter 12, Title 41, Idaho Code.	he an
iv. All security deposited by the self-insured employer shall be maintained as provided by Section 7 302, Idaho Code.	/2- )
v. Any withdrawal or partial release of security deposited hereunder must be requested in writing a approved by the Commission.	nd )
c. Continue or Provide Guaranty Agreement. (	)
i. A self-insured employer that is organized as a joint venture or a wholly owned subsidiary sh continue in effect any guaranty agreement that the Commission has previously allowed or required, until terminati is permitted by the Commission.	
ii. Where an adverse change in financial condition or other relevant factors such as claims history industry risk indicates the need, a self-insured employer that is organized as a joint venture or a wholly own subsidiary may be allowed to, or shall upon request, provide a guaranty agreement from each member of the jo venture or the parent company. This guaranty agreement confirms the continuing agreement of each of the jo venture members or the parent company to guarantee the payment of all Idaho worker's compensation claims employees of that joint venture or subsidiary self-insured employer. The guaranty agreement shall be in substantia the same form as the current sample Indemnity and Guaranty Agreement, and as applicable, the companion Conso of the Board of Directors, available on the Commission's website.	int int of lly

- Maintain a Licensed Resident Adjuster. Maintain an Idaho licensed, resident claims adjuster
- located within the state of Idaho who shall have full authority to make decisions and to authorize the payment of all compensation on said claims on behalf of the employer including, but not limited to, the following:
  - i. Investigate and adjust all claims for compensation;
  - ii. Pay all compensation benefits due;
- Accept service of claims, applications for hearings, orders of the Commission, and all process which may be issued under the Worker's Compensation Law;
  - Enter into compensation agreements and LSSs with Claimants; iv.
- Provide at the employer's expense necessary forms to any employee who wishes to file a Claim under the Worker's Compensation Law.

Section 302 Page 2525

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

- **e.** File Reports. Report to the Industrial Commission semi-annually, or more often as required by the Commission, total unpaid liability on all open claims.
- i. The semi-annual report of total unpaid liability shall be filed with the Industrial Commission by the end of the months of January and July.
- ii. The report shall provide the aggregate number of open claims, including indemnity with medical and Medical Only Claims, along with the amount of any compensation paid on open claims, as of the end of each June and December.
- iii. The report shall be filed even if there are no open claims. In that event, the employer shall certify the fact that there are no open claims to be reported.
- iv. The report shall be submitted on or in a format that is substantially the same as the current Form IC-211, "Self-Insured Employer Report of Total Unpaid Liability," available on the Commission's website. The report may be produced as a computerized spreadsheet or database printout.
- v. The report shall be signed and certified to be correct by a corporate officer. If an employer has designated more than one adjuster for worker's compensation claims in Idaho, a corporate officer of the employer shall prepare, certify, and file a consolidated report of all unpaid liability.
- vi. A self-insured employer shall also make, within the time prescribed, such other reports and respond to such information requests as the Commission may require from time to time concerning matters under the Worker's Compensation Law.
- f. Submit to Audits by Industrial Commission. Each year a self-insured employer shall provide the Industrial Commission with a copy of its annual financial statements, or other acceptable documentation. Each self-insured employer shall submit to audit by the Commission or its designee at any time and as often as it requires to verify the amount of premium such self-insured employer would be required to pay as premium to the State Insurance Fund, and to verify compliance with the provisions of these rules and the Idaho Worker's Compensation Law. For the purpose of determining such premium for uninsured contractors of a self-insured employer, the most recent proof of coverage information contained in the Industrial Commission's database shall be presumed to be correct for the purpose of determining such coverage.
- g. Comply with Law and Rules. Comply with the statutes of the state of Idaho and the rules of the Industrial Commission to the end that payment of compensation shall be sure and certain and not unnecessarily delayed. The Commission may withdraw its approval of any employer to operate as a self-insurer if it shall appear to the Commission that workers secured by said self-insured employer are not adequately protected and served, or the employer is failing to comply with the provisions of these rules or the Worker's Compensation Law.
- **h.** Idaho National Laboratory. An employer meeting the requirements of Section 72-301A, Idaho Code, does not have to comply with Paragraph 303.02.a. and 302.02.b., above.

# 303. RULE GOVERNING THE COLLECTION OF PREMIUM TAX ON WORKER'S COMPENSATION INSURANCE POLICIES.

This rule governs the collection of premium tax on worker's compensation insurance policies. This procedure applies to all worker's compensation policies. ( )

**01. Procedure for Submitting Premium Tax Forms**. The form IC 4008, available on the Commission's website, shall be used to report numbers of policies and the total gross premiums written. The original shall be sent to the Commission; a copy shall also be attached to the reporting entity's annual premium tax statement that is filed with the Idaho Department of Insurance. This form is due to the Commission by July 31 for the reporting period of January 1 through June 30; it is due by March 3 for the reporting period of July 1 through December 31.

304. RULE GOVERNING PREMIUM TAX COMPUTATION FOR SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS.

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE C	CODE
Industrial Commission	

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

annual p Commiss the Com manual p NCCI an shall be a	sion's cu mission' oremium nd submi allowed.	Payroll Reports. No later than March 3rd and July 31st, self-insured employers shall fit tax report with the Fiscal Department of the Commission. Self-insured employers shaurent report form IC 4010, along with the accompanying computation form IC 4010a, average website. The premium tax payment due from a self-insured employer shall be based calculated for each reporting period, as modified by an experience modification factor calculated to the Commission in accordance with Subsection 304.02 of this rule. No other rate If the self-insured employer elects to not provide such experience modification factor, the uted based upon the manual premium only.	Il use tailable upon to culated ing fact	he on he by tor
factor in using the experience authorized	e NCCI ce modif ed. In ord	<b>Experience Modification</b> . A self-insured employer that elects to use an experience modificating premium tax shall make an annual application to NCCI for an experience modificat form ERM-6 and paying to NCCI any fees charged for providing that calculation. In a factor may only be based on the employer's Idaho operations for which self-insured der to have an experience modification factor considered for any reporting period, an employer than the Commission's Fiscal Department:	ion fact An NC d status	tor CI is
	a.	A copy of the completed form ERM-6 filed with NCCI;	(	)
	b.	The resulting experience modification factor received from NCCI; and	(	)
Computa	<b>c.</b> ation For	The completed IC 4010 Semi-Annual Premium Tax Form for Self-Insurers and im.	IC 401	0a )
	REQUI	REMENTS FOR MAINTAINING IDAHO WORKER'S COMPENSATION	CLAIM	1S
		rriers, self-insured employers, and licensed adjusters servicing Idaho worker's compensation that following requirements:	on clair	ms )
	01.	Idaho Office.	(	)
compens		All insurance carriers, self-insured employers, and licensed adjusters servicing Idaho aims shall maintain an office within the state of Idaho. The offices shall be staffed by duct business.		
		The insurance carrier or self-insured employer shall authorize and require a member of ilicensed resident adjuster to service and make decisions regarding claims pursuant to Se		
regarding	g cľaims	As staffing changes occur and, at least annually, the insurance carrier, self-insured em shall submit to the Commission Secretary the names of those authorized to make pursuant to Section 72-305, Idaho Code. Each authorized insurance carrier shall designate nistrator for each policy of worker's compensation insurance.	decisio	ns
	<b>02.</b> either ha	Claim Files. All Idaho worker's compensation claim files shall be maintained within the ard copy or immediately accessible electronic format. Claim files shall include, but are not lead to the copy of the copy		
	a.	FROI and Claim for Benefits;	(	)
	b.	Copies of bills for medical care;	(	)
	c.	Copy of lost-time computations, if applicable;	(	)

Section 305 Page 2527

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Industrial Commission			IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law
	e.	Employer's return-to-work communications; and	( )
	f.	Medical reports.	( )
worker	03. 's comper	<b>Correspondence</b> . All original correspondence in a sation claims shall be authorized from and maintained	
		<b>Date Stamp</b> . Each of the documents listed in Subset e name of the receiving office on the day received, a ims office.	
The or	iginal cop	<b>Notice and Claim.</b> All First Reports of Injury, talities shall be sent directly to the in-state adjuster for py of the FROI, Claim for Benefits, and notices of the Industrial Commission.	r the insurance carrier or self-insured employer.
	06.	Compensation Payments - Generally.	( )
office.	a.	All compensation, as defined by Section 72-102,	Idaho Code, must be issued from the in-state ( )
may ma	<b>b.</b> ake comp	Except as ordered otherwise by the Commission, tensation payments by either:	the insurance carrier or self-insured employer
	i.	Check or other readily negotiable instrument;	( )
Claima	ii. nt in acco	When requested by the Claimant, electronic transpordance with the requirements of Subsection 305.07;	
option 305.08		When requested by the Claimant, electronic transfe available by the carrier or self-insured employer, in a	
through		If the Claimant is represented by an attorney who rayments, the attorney must agree to payment by elect see card before such compensation may be paid other	ronic transfer to Claimant's account or payment
	07.	<b>Electronic Transfer Payments.</b>	( )
employ of acco self-ins subsect	ver in write ount to whe oured emption within	A Claimant may request that the insurance carrier ectronic transfer to a personal bank account by ping: the name and routing transit number of the financich the Claimant wants to have the compensation eleployer shall provide the Claimant with a written for seven (7) days of receiving a request for electronic salready completed an on-line electronic form provides	roviding the insurance carrier or self-insured cial institution and the account number and type extronically transferred. The insurance carrier or rm to fill out the required information by this transfer of payments from the Claimant unless
by elec	<b>b.</b> tronic tra	The insurance carrier or self-insured employer may nsfer to an account designated by the Claimant if the	make compensation payments to the Claimant Claimant:
	i.	Requests in writing that payment be made by electr	onic transfer; ( )
	ii.	Provides the information required by Paragraph 305	5.07.a. above; and ( )
weeks	iii. or more f	Is reasonably expected to be entitled to receive coron the point that Subparagraphs 305.07.b.i. and 07.b.	

Section 305 Page 2528

### Please Return Proof to OARC by 5:00 p.m., Thursday, October 14, 2021

### IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Industrial Commission Under the Worker's Compensation Law The insurance carrier or self-insured employer shall initiate payment by electronic transfer starting with the first benefit payment due on or after the twenty first day after the requirements of Paragraph 305.07.b., above are met, but shall continue to make timely payments by check until the insurance carrier or self-insured employer initiates benefit payment delivery by electronic transfer. If the Claimant has previously been receiving benefit payments by electronic transfer and wants to receive benefits by check, the insurance carrier or self-insured employer shall initiate benefit payment delivery by check starting with the first benefit payment due to the Claimant on or after the seventh day after receiving a written request for such payments. 08. **Access Card Payments.** Access card means any card or other payment method that may be used by a Claimant to initiate electronic fund transfer from an insurance carrier's or a self-insured employer's bank account. The term "access card" does not include stored value cards or prepaid cards that store funds directly on the card and that are not linked to an insurance carrier's or a self-insured employer's bank account. An insurance carrier or a self-insured employer may pay compensation through an access card to a Claimant if there is written mutual agreement signed by the insurance carrier or self-insured employer and the Claimant. The insurance carrier or self-insured employer shall maintain accurate records of the mutual agreement for, at a minimum, four hundred and one (401) weeks from the date of injury. The written agreement shall contain an acknowledgment that the Claimant received and agreed to the written disclosure required by Paragraph 305.08.d. An insurance carrier or a self-insured employer providing compensation payments to a Claimant through an access card shall: Permit the Claimant to withdraw the entire amount of the balance of an access card in one transaction; Not reduce compensation payments paid to a Claimant through an access card for the following fees, surcharges, and adjustments: Overdraft services under which a financial institution pays a transaction (including a check or other item) when the Claimant has insufficient or unavailable funds in the account; ATM withdrawal or point of sale purchase for more than the card holds and the transaction is denied; (3) ATM balance inquiries; Withdrawing money from network ATMs; (4) (5) Withdrawing money from a teller; (6) Customer service calls;

Section 305 Page 2529

Access card replacement through standard mail;

Withdrawing the entire payment in one transaction;

Activating the card;

Closing account;

Fees for card inactivity;

(7)

(8)(9)

(10)

(11)

### IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules **Industrial Commission** Under the Worker's Compensation Law (12)Point of sale purchases, or (13)Any other fees or charges that are not authorized under Subparagraph 305.08.c.iii., and Only permit a Claimant to be charged for the following: iii. (1) Fees for access card replacement through an expedited mail service; International transaction fees, and (3) Out-of-network ATM fees. Insurance carriers or self-insured employers shall provide a written disclosure to the Claimant contemporaneously with the written mutual agreement required under Paragraph 305.08.b. that includes: i. A summary of the Claimant's liability for unauthorized electronic fund transfers; The telephone number and address of the person or office to be notified when the Claimant believes ii. that an unauthorized electronic fund transfer has been or may be made; The type of electronic fund transfers that the Claimant may make and any limitations on the frequency of transfers; Any fees imposed for electronic fund transfers or for the right to make transfers, including a statement that fees may be imposed by an ATM operator that is out-of-network; Fees for expedited card replacement or international transaction fees will be removed from the balance maintained in the bank account linked to the access card; A summary of the Claimant's right to receipts and periodic statements; vi. All bank locations and network ATMs in the United States where the Claimant may access his or vii. her funds at no cost; A statement informing the Claimant that they have a right to receive payments directly into their personal bank account through direct deposit or by check. An insurance carrier or a self-insured employer shall provide the written disclosure and any notice of term or condition changes required under Paragraph 305.08.d. that: i. Are printed in not less than twelve (12) point font; Include the full text to communicate all terms and conditions; ii. Are written in a clear and coherent manner and wherever practical, words with common and everyday meaning shall be used to facilitate readability; and Are appropriately divided and captioned in a meaningful sequence such that each section contains an underlined, boldfaced, or otherwise conspicuous title or caption at the beginning of the section that indicates the nature of the subject matter included in or covered by the section.

An access card issued to a Claimant under this Subsection 305.08 shall:

Not bear any information that could reasonably identify the Claimant as a participant in the

Section 305 Page 2530

f.

worker's compensation system; and

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

- ii. Include on the front or back of the access card a toll-free customer service number and website address. Customer service personnel shall be available by phone Monday through Friday during normal business hours (9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Mountain Time).
- g. The insurance carrier or self-insured employer shall provide a written notice to the Claimant at least twenty one (21) days before the effective date of any change in a term or condition of the mutual agreement or disclosure, including terminating the access card program, increased fees, or liability for unauthorized electronic fund transfers. Any terms or conditions that violate the requirements of this Subsection 305.08 are null and void and may result in administrative action against the carrier or employer. An insurance carrier or employer shall provide a written notice of term or condition changes that:
  - i. Provides a comparison of the current terms and the changes; and ( )
- ii. References the Claimant's ability to request a change in method of payment to electronic fund transfer to his or her personal bank account in accordance with Subsection 305.07 or to payment by check. ( )
- **h.** An insurance carrier or a self-insured employer may close the access card account by issuing a check to the Claimant with the remaining balance of the access card if the account has been inactive for twelve (12) months or longer.
- i. The insurance carrier or self-insured employer shall not remove money from the Claimant's account or access card except to remove permitted fees under Subparagraph 305.08.c.iii. or to close the account for inactivity of a period of twelve (12) months or more. An insurance carrier or a self-insured employer seeking to recoup overpayments shall follow the requirements of section 72-316, Idaho Code.
- **j.** An insurance carrier or a self-insured employer is considered to have made a compensation payment the date the payment is available on the Claimant's access card.
- **09.** Checks and Drafts. Checks must be signed and issued within the state of Idaho; drafts are prohibited.
- a. The Commission may, upon receipt of a written Application for Waiver, grant a waiver from the provisions of Subsections 305.06 and 305.09 of this rule to permit an insurance carrier or a self-insured employer to sign and issue checks outside the state of Idaho.
- **b.** An Application for Waiver must be accompanied by an affidavit signed by an officer or principal of the insurance carrier or self-insured employer, attesting to the fact that the insurance carrier or self-insured employer is prepared to comply with all statutes and rules pertaining to prompt payments of compensation. ( )
- c. All waivers shall be effective from the date the Commission issues the order granting the waiver. A waiver shall remain in effect until revoked by the Industrial Commission. At least annually, staff of the Industrial Commission may review the performance of any insurance carrier or self-insured employer for which a waiver under this rule has been granted to assure that the insurance carrier or self-insured employer is complying with all statutes and rules pertaining to prompt payments of compensation.
- d. If at any time after the Commission has granted a waiver, the Commission receives information permitting the inference that the insurance carrier or self-insured employer has failed to provide timely benefits to any Claimant, the Commission may issue an order to show cause why the Commission should not revoke the waiver; and, after affording the insurance carrier or self-insured employer an opportunity to be heard, may revoke the waiver and order the insurance carrier or self-insured employer to comply with the requirements of Subsections 305.06 and 305.09 of this rule.
- 10. Copies of Checks. Copies of checks and/or electronically reproducible copies of the information contained on the checks must be maintained in the in-state files for Industrial Commission audit purposes. A copy of the first income benefit check, shall be sent to the Industrial Commission electronically on the same day of issuance.

Section 305 Page 2531

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

11	Duamnt Claim Courising	Duament alaim gamii aing ingludga but ig not limited to.	(
11.	Prompt Claim Servicing.	Prompt claim servicing includes, but is not limited to:	( )

- a. Making an initial decision to accept or deny a Claim for an injury or occupational disease within thirty (30) days of the date the Claims Administrator receives knowledge of the same. The worker shall be given notice of that initial decision in accordance with Section 72-806, Idaho Code. Nothing in this rule shall be construed as amending the requirement to start payment of income benefits no later than four (4) weeks or twenty-eight (28) days from the date of disability under the provisions of Section 72-402, Idaho Code.
  - **b.** Payment of medical bills in accordance with the provisions of Section 803 of these rules. ( )
  - **c.** Payment of income benefits on a weekly basis, unless otherwise approved by the Commission.
- i. The first payment of income benefits under Section 72-408, Idaho Code, shall constitute application by the insurance carrier or self-insured employer for a waiver to pay Temporary Total Disability (TTD) benefits on a bi-weekly basis, Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) benefits on other than a weekly basis, Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) benefits based on permanent impairment and Permanent Total Disability (PTD) benefits every twenty-eight (28) days, rather than on a weekly basis.
- ii. Such waiver application shall be granted upon receipt and remain in effect unless revoked by the Industrial Commission in accordance with Subparagraph 305.11.c.iii.
- iii. If at any time after a waiver has been granted pursuant to this section the Commission receives information permitting the inference that the insurance carrier or self-insured employer has failed to service claims in accordance with Idaho law, or that such waiver has created an undue hardship on a Claimant, the Commission may issue an order to show cause why the Commission should not revoke that waiver, and after affording the insurance carrier or employer an opportunity to be heard, may revoke the waiver with respect to all or certain Claimants and order the insurance carrier or self-insured employer to comply with the requirements of Subsection 305.11.c. of this rule.
- **d.** Payment of the first Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) benefit based on permanent impairment no later than fourteen (14) days after receipt of the Medical Report providing the impairment rating. The first payment shall include payment of benefits retroactive to the date of medical stability.
- e. Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) payments shall be calculated using the employee's pay period, whether weekly, bi-weekly, or semi-monthly. For employees paid pursuant to any other schedule, TPD benefits shall be calculated semi-monthly. TPD payments owed for a particular pay period shall issue no later than seven (7) days following the date on which employee is ordinarily paid for that pay period.
- 12. Audits. The Industrial Commission will perform periodic audits to ensure compliance with the above requirements.
- 13. Non-Compliance. Non-compliance with the above requirements may result in the revocation of the authority of an insurance carrier to write worker's compensation insurance or self-insured employer to self-insure its worker's compensation insurance obligations in the state of Idaho, or such lesser sanctions as the Industrial Commission may impose.

### 306. RULE PROHIBITING USE OF SICK LEAVE OR OTHER ALTERNATIVE COMPENSATION.

- **O1.** Employee Not Required to Take Sick Leave in Lieu of Compensation. No employer obligated to pay worker's compensation benefits to an employee as provided by the Worker's Compensation Law may require an employee to accept "sick leave" or other comparable benefit in lieu of the worker's compensation benefits provided by law. Section 72-318(2), Idaho Code, specifically provides that no agreement by an employee to waive his rights to compensation under the Worker's Compensation Law shall be valid.
- **02. Election of Sick Leave or Alternative Compensation Prohibited.** Further, an employee may not elect to accept "sick leave" or other comparable benefit from an employer in lieu of worker's compensation benefits

Section 306 Page 2532

### Please Return Proof to OARC by 5:00 p.m., Thursday, October 14, 2021

# IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Industrial Commission

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

to which the employee is entitled under the Worker's Compensation Law. (

# 307. RULE GOVERNING REPORTING INDEMNITY AND MEDICAL PAYMENTS AND MAKING PAYMENT OF INDUSTRIAL SPECIAL INDEMNITY FUND ASSESSMENT.

Pursuant to Section 72-327, Idaho Code, the state insurance fund, every authorized insurance carrier, and self-insured employer in Idaho shall report annually to the Industrial Commission the total gross amount of medical only and Indemnity Benefits paid on Idaho worker's compensation claims during the applicable reporting period. This report is used to calculate the pro rata share of the annual assessment for the ISIF, under Section 72-327, Idaho Code. ( )

- **01. Filing**. The report of indemnity and medical payments shall be filed with the Industrial Commission simultaneously with the first Semi-Annual Premium Tax Report; which, pursuant to Section 72-523, Idaho Code, is due each year on March 3rd.
- **02. Form**. The report of indemnity and medical payments shall be submitted in writing on, or in a format substantially the same as the current Form IC2-327, available on the Commission's website. ( )
- **03. Report Required When No Indemnity Paid.** If an entity required to report under this rule has no claims against which indemnity or medical payments have been made during the reporting period, a report shall be filed so indicating.
- **04. Penalty for Late Filing**. A penalty shall be assessed by the Commission for filing the report of indemnity and medical payments later than March 3rd each year.
  - **a.** A penalty of two hundred dollars (\$200) for late filing of seven (7) days or less.
  - **b.** A penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100) per day for late filing of more than seven (7) days. (
- **c.** A penalty assessed by the Commission shall be payable to the Industrial Commission and be submitted with the April 1 payment of the ISIF assessment, following notice by the Commission of the penalty assessment.
- 05. Estimating Indemnity Payments for Entities That Fail to Report Timely. If an entity required to report indemnity payments under these rules fails to report within the time allowed in these rules, the Commission will estimate the indemnity payments for that entity by using the indemnity amount reported for the preceding reporting period and adding twenty percent (20%).
- **06.** Adjustment for Overpayments or Underpayments. Overpayments or underpayments, including those resulting from estimating the indemnity payments of entities that fail to report timely, will be adjusted on the billing for the subsequent period.

#### **308. – 400.** (RESERVED)

### 401. RULE GOVERNING COMPUTATION OF AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE.

- **O1.** Amounts Paid over Base Rate. Sums paid by an employer to an employee, over and above the base rate of compensation agreed upon by the employer and the employee in a contract of hire, which are contingent and dependent upon the employee's increased physical exertion and/or efficiency shall be included in computing the employee's average weekly wage pursuant to Section 72-419(4)(a), Idaho Code. Said sums shall not be considered premium pay.
- **02. Fringe Benefits.** Also, in computing the average weekly wage, it shall be presumed that wages include, but are not limited to, cost of living increases, vacation pay, holiday pay, and sick leave.
- **03. Premium Pay**. Further, in computing the average weekly wage, it shall be presumed that premium pay includes, but is not limited to, shift differential pay and overtime pay.
  - **O4.** Examples Not Exclusive. The above-listed examples shall not be taken as exclusive in computing

Section 307 Page 2533

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

the average weekly wage.

# 402. RULE GOVERNING CONVERSION OF IMPAIRMENT RATINGS TO "WHOLE MAN" STANDARD.

- **01.** Converting Single Rating of Body Part to Whole Person Rating. Impairment ratings shall be converted in accordance with the Industrial Commission Schedule, Section 72-428, Idaho Code, with the base of five hundred (500) weeks for the whole man.
- **02.** Averaging Multiple Ratings. Where more than one (1) evaluating physician has given ratings, these shall be converted to the statutory percentage of the whole man, and averaged for the applicable rating. (
- **03.** Correcting Manifest Injustice. In the event that the Commission deems a manifest injustice would result from the above ruling, it may at its discretion take steps necessary to correct such injustice.

### 403. RULE GOVERNING COMPENSATION FOR DISABILITY DUE TO LOSS OF TEETH.

- **O1.** Compensation for Disability. A Claimant under the Worker's Compensation Law shall be entitled to compensation for permanent disability for the loss of each tooth other than wisdom teeth at the rate of one tenth of one percent (.1%) of the whole man. The loss of wisdom teeth shall not constitute any permanent disability. Compensation hereunder shall be in addition to payments for medical services including dental appliances and bridgework necessitated by the injury and any income benefits during the period of Claimant's recovery to which the Claimant be entitled.
- **02. Prima Facie Evidence**. This rule and schedule shall be prima facie evidence of the percentage of permanent disability to be attributed to the loss of teeth.
- **404.** SUBMISSION OF MEDICAL REPORTS AND REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION
  This procedure applies to all open worker's compensation claims where medical services are provided. ( )
- **Medical Treatment Reports to Payors**. In all cases where medical services are provided and which have not been denied by the Payor, the Provider shall submit written medical information generated in connection with each medical visit to the Payor within fourteen (14) days following each evaluation, examination, or treatment, first copy free of charge. The Provider shall also submit the same medical information to the Claimant upon request, first copy free of charge.
- **Requests for Medical Information by the Commission**. If an injury or occupational disease results in a Claim, the Employer/Surety or Provider shall provide medical information as requested by the Commission. Such requests may include, without limitation, requests for information regarding the beginning and ending dates of periods of temporary disability, permanent and temporary restrictions, recommendations for further treatment and impairment ratings. Such requests may be in writing, telephonically or electronically and the response may be submitted in writing or electronically. A response to a Commission request for medical information shall be provided within fourteen (14) days from the date of the request. Medical information requested by the Commission shall be provided without charge.
- **03.** Requests for Medical Information by ISIF. A party who has filed a claim against the ISIF shall provide medical information requested by the ISIF, free of charge. Medical information responsive to such request must be provided within thirty (30) days of the date of the request.
- **04.** Requests for Medical Information from Providers by the Parties. Under the provisions of Section 72-432(11), Idaho Code, medical information shall be provided by Providers to a party upon request, subject to the following:
- **a.** One copy of medical information requested by a claimant or claimant's legal counsel, if extant at the time of the request, shall be provided free of charge.
  - **b.** Medical information requested by other parties, if extant at the time of the request, shall be

Section 402 Page 2534

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

provided at a reasonable cost. (

c. Medical information requested in accordance with this subsection shall be provided within thirty (30) days of the date of the request unless other arrangements are mutually agreed upon. Disputes over requests for medical information made by parties shall be resolved upon motion to the Commission in accordance with the JRP. Orders of the Commission concerning requests for medical information may be enforced pursuant to Section 72-715, Idaho Code.

#### 405. RULE GOVERNING REIMBURSEMENT FOR TRAVEL EXPENSES.

- **Mileage Rate**. If Claimant has access to, and is able to operate, a vehicle for transportation covered by Sections 72-432(13) or 72-433(3), Idaho Code, employer shall reimburse Claimant at the mileage rate then allowed by the State Board of Examiners for State employees. Such rate shall be published annually by the Industrial Commission, together with the average state wage for the upcoming period. All such miles shall be reimbursed, with fractions of a mile greater than one-half (1/2) mile rounded to the next higher mile and fractions of a mile below one-half (1/2) mile disregarded.
- **O2.** Commercial Transportation. If Claimant has no vehicle, or has access to a vehicle and is reasonably unable to utilize the vehicle for transportation covered by Sections 72-432(13) or 72-433(3), Idaho Code, Claimant's employer shall reimburse Claimant the actual cost of commercial transportation as evidenced by actual receipts. Notwithstanding the above provision, no Claimant shall be eligible for reimbursement of the actual cost of commercial transportation where such Claimant is unable to operate a motor vehicle due to the revocation or suspension of driving privileges because Claimant was under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
- **03.** Request for Reimbursement. It shall be Claimant's responsibility to submit a travel reimbursement request to the employer. Such request shall be made on a form substantially the same as Industrial Commission Form IC 432(1), posted on the Commission's website. The Claimant must attach to the form a copy of a bill or receipt showing that the visit occurred. The employer shall furnish the Claimant with copies of this form.
- **64. Frequency of Requests.** Claimant shall not request transportation reimbursement more frequently than once every thirty (30) days. However, notwithstanding this provision, should a Claimant request transportation reimbursement more frequently than every thirty (30) days, employer need not issue more than one reimbursement check in any thirty-day (30) period.

406. -- 500. (RESERVED)

# 501. RULE GOVERNING PROTECTION AND DISCLOSURE OF REHABILITATION DIVISION RECORDS.

- **01.** Request for Disclosure. Pursuant to Section 74-105(10), Idaho Code, a party requesting rehabilitation records shall do so in writing and identify which provision of 74-105(10), Idaho Code, authorizes their request.
- **02.** Requests from Other Agencies. If records are in the possession of the Rehabilitation Division by reason of an agreement to comply with valid confidentiality regulations of any agency of the state of Idaho, or agency of the United States, then disclosure shall be requested from the source agency, and not from the Rehabilitation Division.

### 502. RULE GOVERNING REPORTS OF ATTORNEY COSTS AND FEES IN LITIGATED CASES.

When requested by the Commission, parties to a Litigated Case shall provide the Commission the information required by Section 72-528, Idaho Code. The form for Sureties is Form 1022 and the form for Claimant's attorneys is Form 1023; both are available on the Commission's website.

503. -- 600. (RESERVED)

601. SUBMISSION OF FROI AND SROI.

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

- **01. Purpose**. Pursuant to Sections 72-602(1)-(2), Idaho Code, employers must submit a FROI and/or SROI in accordance with these rules.
- **O2. EDI Reporting**. The Commission requires electronic submission of FROIs and SROIs in accordance with the most current versions of the IAIABC EDI Claims Release 3.0, or release 3.1 after December 1, 2022, and the Commission's EDI Guides and Tables from any employer not otherwise exempt by these rules. Each FROI and SROI must comply with formatting requirements and must contain the information identified as mandatory or mandatory conditional, as applicable.
- **O3. Trading Partner Agreements.** Before commencing with electronic reporting, Trading Partners shall electronically submit a Trading Partner Agreement with the Commission, which the Commission must approve prior to submitting reports. This agreement must provide the effective date to send and receive electronic reports, the acceptable data to be sent and received, the method of transmission to be used, and other pertinent elements. This agreement will identify the insurance carrier, the Claims Administrator, the sender of the electronic files, and the electronic filing method. To ensure the accuracy of reported data, the Trading Partner must maintain their profile to reflect changes as they occur and the Commission may make periodic audits of Trading Partner files. In the event that a Trading Partner Agreement is entered into by a Claims Administrator, notice to the Trading Partner of a FROI shall be deemed to be notice to the underlying insurance carrier or self-insured employer.
  - 04. Report Form and Content for Parties Exempt from EDI Requirements.
- a. Individual injured workers, injured worker's legal counsel, and employers that are not insured are not required to comply with EDI requirements for FROIs and SROIs.
- **b.** Parties exempt from EDI requirements must submit FROIs on a form 1A-1 and SROIs on a form IC-8, or in a format substantially similar. Both forms are available on the Commission's website.
- **05. Retaining Claims Files.** Upon request of the Commission, insurance carriers, Claims Administrators, or employers shall provide to the Commission, in whole or in part according to the request, a copy of the claim file at no cost to the Commission. All insurance carriers, Claims Administrators, or employers shall retain complete copies of claims files for the life of the Claim and a minimum of five (5) years from the date of closure.
- **06. Filing Not an Admission**. Filing a FROI is not an admission of liability and is not conclusive evidence of any fact stated therein. If a Claim is submitted electronically, no signatures are required.
- **07. Filing Considered Authorization**. Filing of a Claim shall be considered an authorization for the release of medical records that are relevant to or bearing upon the particular injury or occupational disease for which the Claimant is seeking compensation.
- **08. Timely Response Requirement**. When the Commission requests additional information in order to process the Claim, the Claimant or employer shall provide the requested information promptly. The Commission request may be either in writing or telephonic.

#### 602. FINAL REPORTS.

**Report Requirements.** An electronic filing of the Final Report as prescribed by Commission EDI requirements shall be filed for all indemnity claims or any claims resolved by lump sum settlement within thirty (30) days from the date the surety or self-insured employer closes the claim file. In the case of medical-only claims, no Final Report need be filed. For death claims and permanent total disability claims, Annual Reports shall be filed within the first quarter of each calendar year. A Final Report shall be filed within thirty (30) days from the date the surety or self-insured employer closes the death or permanent total disability claim file. In the event the Commission is unable to reconcile the Annual Report or Final Report, a request for additional information may be made, either in writing or telephonically, and the surety or self-insured employer shall submit the requested information within fifteen (15) working days of the request. If the surety or self-insured employer is unable to furnish the requested information, the surety or self-insured employer shall notify the Commission, in writing, of its inability to respond

Section 602 Page 2536

IDAHO ADMIN Industrial Con	IISTRATIVE CODE nmission	IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law
and the reasons t	therefor within fifteen (15) workings days of the req	uest. ( )
02.	Format. The required format for Final Reports is	contingent on the claim file date:
	Final Reports for legacy claims filed on paper or ed in a format substantially similar to IC Form 6, 3.1 after December 1, 2022.	
<b>b.</b> Claims 3.0, or E	Final Reports for legacy claims filed via EDI Clai DI Claims 3.1 after December 1, 2022.	ms 3.0 shall be submitted electronically via EDI ( )
appointed, the re	Change in Status of Employer. In case of any fail to pay any final award or awards, by reason exceiver or successor shall continue to report to the Comports and schedules of outstanding awards.	of insolvency or because a receiver has been
603 800.	(RESERVED)	
801. RULE	GOVERNING CHANGE OF STATUS NOTICE	TO CLAIMANTS.
whenever there compensation be	Notice of Change of Status. As required and de tten notice within fifteen (15) days of any change of is an acceptance, commencement, denial, reducing to which the worker might presently or ultimated to recoup any overpayment of benefits in acceptance.	status or condition, including, but not limited to, action, or cessation of medical or monetary mately be entitled. Such notice is required when
	By Whom Given. Any notice to a worker require the employer has secured Worker's Compensation In mployer if the employer carries no Worker's Compe	nsurance; or the employer if the employer is self-
the party require	<b>Form of Notice</b> . Any notice to a worker required lays by regular United States Mail to the last known do to give notice as set forth above. The Notice shall e on the Commission's website.	address of the worker, as shown in the records of
<b>04.</b> Report, the party	<b>Medical Reports</b> . As required by Section 72-806, giving notice shall attach a copy of the report to the	Idaho Code, if the change is based on a Medical e notice.
represented, at t Industrial Comm	Copies of Notice. The party giving notice pursual the notice to the Industrial Commission, the employeness same time notice is sent to the worker. The phission in accordance with the Commission's rule on ent recovery request made pursuant to I.C. 72-316, in paper format.	yer, and the worker's attorney, if the worker is arty giving notice may supply the copy to the electronic submission of documents. In the case
802. RULE	GOVERNING APPROVAL OF ATTORNEYS F	EES
01.	Purpose. The Industrial Commission promulgates	this rule to govern the approval of attorney fees.
02.	Charges Presumed Reasonable:	( )
<b>a.</b> Funds shall be p	In a case in which no hearing on the merits has be resumed reasonable; or	een held, twenty-five percent (25%) of Available
<b>b.</b>	In a case in which a hearing has been held and brid	efs submitted (or waived) under Judicial Rules of

Section 801 Page 2537

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

maaomar oon	micolon una ricinal a componedado	u		
Practice and Proo	cedure (JRP), Rules X and XI, thirty percent (30%) of Available Funds shall be presumed reason	onabl (	e; )	
c. such disability co	In any case in which compensation is paid for total permanent disability, fifteen percent (15 ompensation after ten (10) years from date such total permanent disability payments commence		of )	
03.	Statement of Charging Lien.	(	)	
a.	All requests for approval of fees shall be deemed requests for approval of a Charging Lien.	(	)	
<b>b.</b> An attorney representing a Claimant in a Worker's Compensation matter shall in any proposed LS or upon request of the Commission, file with the Commission, and serve the Claimant with a copy of the F Agreement, and an affidavit or memorandum containing:				
i.	The date upon which the attorney became involved in the matter;	(	)	
ii.	Any issues which were undisputed at the time the attorney became involved;	(	)	
iii. to the attorney's	The total dollar value of all compensation paid or admitted as owed by employer immediately involvement;	y pri (	or )	
iv.	Disputed issues that arose subsequent to the date the attorney was hired;	(	)	
v.	Counsel's itemization of compensation that constitutes Available Funds;	(	)	
vi.	Counsel's itemization of costs and calculation of fees; and	(	)	
vii. Counsel's itemization of medical bills for which Claim was made in the underlying action, but which remain unpaid by employer/surety at the time of LSS, along with counsel's explanation of the treatment to be given such bills/claims following approval of the LSS.				
viii. The statement of the attorney identifying with reasonable detail his or her fulfillment of each element of the Charging Lien.				
c. its staff, the Com	Upon receipt and a determination of compliance with this Rule by the Commission by references amission may issue an Order Approving Fees without a hearing.	ence (	to )	
04.	Procedure if Fees Are Determined Not to Be Reasonable.	(	)	
a. Upon receipt of the affidavit or memorandum, the Commission will designate staff members to determine reasonableness of the fee. The Commission staff will notify counsel in writing of the staff's informal determination, which shall state the reasons for the determination that the requested fee is not reasonable. Omission of any information required by Paragraph 802.02.b may constitute grounds for an informal determination that the fee requested is not reasonable.				
argument on the	If counsel disagrees with the Commission staff's informal determination, counsel may file, ys of the date of the determination, a Request for Hearing for the purpose of presenting eviden matter. Upon receipt of the Request for Hearing, the Commission shall schedule a hearing at for Hearing shall be treated as a motion under Rule III(e), JRP.	ice ai	nd	
to the requested determined to be	The Commission shall order an employer to release any Available Funds in excess of those s Charging Lien and may order payment of fees subject to the Charging Lien which have reasonable.			
<b>d.</b> shall have the bu	The proponent of a fee which is greater than the percentage of recovery stated in Subsection 3 arden of establishing by clear and convincing evidence entitlement to the greater fee. The at			

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

shall always bear the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence his or her assertion of a Charging Lien and reasonableness of his or her fee.

- **05. Disclosure Statement.** Upon retention, the attorney shall provide to Claimant a copy of a disclosure statement. No fee may be taken from a Claimant by an attorney on a contingency fee basis unless the Claimant acknowledges receipt of the disclosure by signing it. Upon request by the Commission, an attorney shall provide a copy of the signed disclosure statement to the Commission. The terms of the disclosure may be contained in the Fee Agreement, so long as it contains the following text:
- **a.** In worker's compensation matters, attorney's fees normally do not exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of the benefits your attorney obtains for you in a case in which no hearing on the merits has been completed. In a case in which a hearing on the merits has been completed, attorney's fees normally do not exceed thirty percent (30%) of the benefits your attorney obtains for you.
- **b.** Depending upon the circumstances of your case, you and your attorney may agree to a higher or lower percentage which would be subject to Commission approval. Further, if you and your attorney have a dispute regarding attorney fees, either of you may petition the Industrial Commission, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0041, to resolve the dispute.

#### 803. MEDICAL FEES.

- **01.** General Provisions for Medical Fees. The following provisions shall apply to Commission approval of claims for medical benefits.
  - a. Acceptable Charge. Payors shall pay Providers the acceptable charge for medical services. ( )
- **b.** Coding. The Commission will generally follow the coding guidelines published by CMS and by the American Medical Association, including the use of modifiers.
- c. Disputes. Disputes between Providers and Payors are governed by Subsection 803.06 of this rule and JRP 19.
- **d.** Outside of Idaho. Reimbursement for medical services provided outside the state of Idaho may be based upon the agreement of the parties. If there is no agreement, services shall be paid in accordance with the worker's compensation fee schedule in effect in the state in which services are rendered. If there is no fee schedule in effect in such state, or if the fee schedule in that state does not allow reimbursement for the services rendered, reimbursement shall be paid in accordance with these rules.
- 02. Acceptable Charges For Medical Services Provided By Physicians Under The Idaho Worker's Compensation Law.
- **a.** The Commission adopts the RBRVS, published by CMS, as amended, as the standard to be used to determine acceptable charges by physicians.
  - **b.** Modifiers. Modifiers for physicians will be reimbursed as follows:
  - i. Modifier 50: Additional fifty percent (50%) for bilateral procedure. ( )
- ii. Modifier 51: Fifty percent (50%) of secondary procedure. This modifier will be applied to each medical or surgical procedure rendered during the same session as the primary procedure.
  - iii. Modifier 80: Twenty-five percent (25%) of coded procedure.
- iv. Modifier 81: Fifteen percent (15%) of coded procedure. This modifier applies to MD and non-MD assistants.
  - c. Conversion Factors. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for a medical service,

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

identified by a code assigned to that service in the latest edition of the Physician's CPT, published by the American Medical Association, as amended, is calculated by the application of the total facility or non-facility RVU for services as determined by place of service in the latest RBRVS in effect on the first day of January of the current calendar year, to the following corresponding conversion factors. The procedure with the largest RVU will be the primary procedure and will be listed first on the claim form.

MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULE					
SERVICE CATEGORY	CODE RANGE(S)	DESCRIPTION	CONVERSION FACTOR		
Anesthesia	00000 - 09999	Anesthesia	\$60.33		
Surgery - Group One	22000 - 22999 23000 - 24999 25000 - 27299 27300 - 27999 29800 - 29999 61000 - 61999 62000 - 62259 63000 - 63999	Spine Shoulder, Upper Arm, & Elbow Forearm, Wrist, Hand, Pelvis & Hip Leg, Knee, & Ankle Endoscopy & Arthroscopy Skull, Meninges & Brain Repair, Neuroendoscopy & Shunts Spine & Spinal Cord	\$135.00		
Surgery - Group Two	28000 - 28999 64550 - 64999	Foot & Toes Nerves & Nervous System	\$124.00		
Surgery - Group Three	10000 - 19999 20000 - 21999 29000 - 29799 30000 - 39999 40000 - 49999 50000 - 59999 60000 - 60999 62260 - 62999 64000 - 64549 65000 - 69999	Integumentary System Musculoskeletal System Casts & Strapping Respiratory & Cardiovascular Digestive System Urinary System Endocrine System Spine & Spinal Cord Nerves & Nervous System Eye & Ear	\$88.54		
Radiology	70000 - 79999	Radiology	\$88.54		
Pathology & Laboratory	80000 - 89999	Pathology & Laboratory	To Be Deter- mined		
Medicine - Group One	90000 - 90749 94000 - 94999 97000 - 97799 97800 - 98999	Immunization, Injections, & Infusions Pulmonary / Pulse Oximetry Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Acupuncture, Osteopathy, & Chiropractic	\$49.00		
Medicine - Group Two	90750 - 92999 93000 - 93999 95000 - 96020 96040 - 96999 99000 - 99607	Psychiatry & Medicine Cardiography, Catheterization, Vascular Studies Allergy / Neuromuscular Procedures Assessments & Special Procedures E / M & Miscellaneous Services	\$70.00		

**d.** Anesthesiology. The Conversion Factor for the Anesthesiology CPT Codes shall be multiplied by the current Anesthesia Base Units assigned to that CPT Code by CMS, plus the allowable time units reported for the procedure. Time units are computed by dividing reported time by fifteen (15) minutes. Time units will not be used for CPT Code 01996.

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

- e. Services Without CPT Code, RVU or Conversion Factor. The acceptable charge for medical services that do not have a current CPT code, a currently assigned RVU, or a conversion factor will be the reasonable charge for that service, based upon the usual and customary charge and other relevant evidence, as determined by the Commission. Where a service with a CPT Code, RVU, and conversion factor is, nonetheless, claimed to be exceptional or unusual, the Commission may, notwithstanding the conversion factor for that service set out in Paragraph 02.c, above, determine the acceptable charge for that service, based on all relevant evidence in accordance with the procedures set out in Subsection 06, below.
- f. Medicine Dispensed by Physicians. Reimbursement to physicians for any medicine shall not exceed the acceptable charge calculated for that medicine as if provided by a Pharmacy under Subsection 04 of this rule without a dispensing or compounding fee. Reimbursement to physicians for repackaged medicine shall be the AWP for the medicine prior to repackaging, identified by the NDC reported by the original manufacturer. Reimbursement may be withheld until the original manufacturer's NDC is provided by the physician.
- g. Adjustment of Conversion Factors. The conversion factors set out in this rule may be adjusted each fiscal year (FY) by the Commission to reflect changes in inflation or market conditions in accordance with Section 72-803, Idaho Code.
- 03. Acceptable Charges For Medical Services Provided By Hospitals And Ambulatory Surgery Centers Under The Idaho Worker's Compensation Law. The following standards shall be used to determine the acceptable charge for Hospitals and ASCs.
- a. Critical Access Hospitals. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for inpatient and outpatient services provided by a Critical Access Hospital is ninety percent (90%) of the reasonable charge. Implantable hardware charges shall be reimbursed at the rate of the actual cost plus fifty percent (50%).
- b. Hospital Inpatient Services. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for inpatient services provided by Hospitals, other than Critical Access Hospitals, is calculated by multiplying the base rate by the current MS-DRG weight for that service. The base rate for inpatient services is ten thousand two hundred dollars (\$10,200). Inpatient services that do not have a relative weight shall be paid at eighty-five percent (85%) of the reasonable charge; however, Implantable Hardware charges billed for services without an MS-DRG weight shall be reimbursed at the rate of actual cost plus fifty percent (50%).
- c. Hospital Outpatient and ASC Services. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for outpatient services provided by Hospitals (other than Critical Access Hospitals) and for services provided by ASCs is calculated by multiplying the base rate by the Medicare Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment System APC weight in effect on the first day of January of the current calendar year. The base rate for Hospital outpatient services is one hundred forty dollars and seventy-five cents (\$140.75). The base rate for ASC services is ninety-one dollars fifty cents (\$91.50).
- i. Medical services for which there is no APC weight listed shall be reimbursed at seventy-five percent (75%) of the reasonable charge.
- ii. Status code N items or items with no CPT or HCPCS code shall receive no payment except as provided in Subparagraph 803.03.c.ii.(1) or 803.03.c.ii.(2) of this rule.
- (1) Implantable Hardware may be eligible for separate payment under Subparagraph 03.d.iii. of this rule.
- (2) Outpatient laboratory tests provided with no other Hospital outpatient service on the same date, or outpatient laboratory tests provided on the same date of service as other Hospital outpatient services that are clinically unrelated may be paid separately if billed with modifier L1. Payment shall be made in the same manner that services with no APC weight are paid under Subparagraph 803.03.c.i. of this rule.
- iii. When no medical services with a status code J1 appears on the same Claim, two (2) or more medical procedures with a status code T on the same Claim shall be reimbursed with the highest weighted code paid

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

at one hundred percent (100%) of the APC calculated amount and all other status code T items paid at fifty percent (50%). When a medical service with a status code J1 appears on the same Claim, all medical services with a status code T shall be paid at fifty percent (50%).

- iv. When no medical services with a status code J1 appears on the same Claim, status code Q items with an assigned APC weight will not be discounted. When a medical service with a status code J1 appears on the same Claim, status code Q items shall be paid at fifty percent (50%).
- **d.** Additional Hospital Payments. When the charge for a medical service provided by a Hospital (other than a Critical Access Hospital) meets the following standards, additional payment shall be made for that service, as indicated.
- i. Inpatient Threshold Exceeded. When the charge for a Hospital inpatient MS-DRG coded service exceeds the sum of thirty thousand dollars (\$30,000) plus the payment calculated under the provisions of Paragraph 03.b. of this rule, then the total payment for that service shall be the sum of the MS-DRG payment and the amount charged above that threshold multiplied by seventy-five percent (75%). Implantable charges shall be excluded from the calculation for an additional inpatient payment under this Subparagraph.
- ii. Inpatient Implantable Hardware. Hospitals may seek additional reimbursement beyond the MSDRG payment for invoiced Implantable Hardware where the aggregate invoice cost is greater than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000). Additional reimbursement shall be the invoice cost plus an amount which is equal to ten percent (10%) of the invoice cost, but which does not exceed three thousand dollars (\$3,000). Handling and freight charges shall be included in invoice cost.
- iii. Outpatient Implantable Hardware. Hospitals and ASCs may seek additional reimbursement beyond the APC payment for invoiced Implantable Hardware where the aggregate invoice cost is greater than five hundred dollars (\$500). Additional reimbursement shall be the invoice cost plus an amount which is equal to ten percent (10%) of the invoice cost, but which does not exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000). Handling and freight charges shall be included in invoice cost.
- **e.** Adjustment of Hospital and ASC Base Rates. The Commission may periodically adjust the base rates set out in Paragraphs 803.03.b. and 803.03.c. of this rule to reflect changes in inflation or market conditions.
- **04.** Acceptable Charges For Medicine Provided By Pharmacies. The following standards shall be used to determine the acceptable charge for medicine provided by pharmacies.
- **a.** Brand/Trade Name Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for brand/trade name medicine shall be the AWP, plus a five dollar (\$5) dispensing fee.
- **b.** Generic Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for generic medicine shall be the AWP, plus an eight dollar (\$8) dispensing fee.
- c. Compound Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for compound medicine shall be the sum of the AWP for each drug included in the compound medicine, plus a five dollar (\$5) dispensing fee and a two dollar (\$2) compounding fee. All components of the compound medicine shall be identified by their original manufacturer's NDC when submitted for reimbursement. Payors may withhold reimbursement until the original manufacturer's NDC assigned to each component of the compound medicine is provided by the Pharmacy. Components of a compound medicine without an NDC may require medical necessity confirmation by the treating physician prior to reimbursement.
- **d.** Prescribed Over-the Counter Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for prescribed over-the-counter medicine filled by a Pharmacy shall be the reasonable charge plus a two dollar (\$2) dispensing fee.
- 05. Acceptable Charges For Medical Services Provided By Other Providers Under The Idaho Worker's Compensation Law. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for Providers other than

IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law

physicians, Hospitals or ASCs shall be the reasonable charge.

- **06.** Billing And Payment Requirements For Medical Services And Procedures Preliminary To Dispute Resolution. This rule governs billing and payment requirements for medical services provided under the Worker's Compensation Law and the procedures for resolving disputes between Payors and Providers over those bills or payments.
- **a.** Time Periods. None of the periods herein shall begin to run before the Notice of Injury/Claim for Benefits has been filed with the Employer as required by law.
- **b.** Provider to Furnish Information. A Provider, when submitting a bill to a Payor, shall inform the Payor of the nature and extent of medical services furnished and for which the bill is submitted. This information shall include, but is not limited to, the patient's name, the employer's name, the date the medical service was provided, the diagnosis, if any, and the amount of the charge or charges. Failure to submit a bill complying with this Paragraph 06.b to the Payor within one hundred twenty (120) days of the date of service will result in the ineligibility of the Provider to utilize the dispute resolution procedures of the Commission set out in Paragraph 803.06.i. of this rule for that service.
- i. A Provider's bill shall, whenever possible, describe the Medical Service provided, using the American Medical Association's appropriate CPT coding, including modifiers, the appropriate HCPCS code, the diagnostic and procedure code set version required by CMS and the original NDC for the year in which the service was performed.
- ii. The bill shall also contain the name, address and telephone number of the individual the Payor may contact in the event the Payor seeks additional information regarding the Provider's bill.
- iii. Unless previously provided pursuant to Section 404 of these rules, a bill shall be accompanied by a copy of all medical information generated by the Provider in connection with the service being billed, free of charge. Where a bill is not accompanied by such information, the periods expressed in Paragraphs 803.06.c and 803.06.e. of this rule, shall not begin to run until the Payor receives the information. Whenever possible, billing information shall be coded using CPT. In the case of Hospitals, reports shall include a Uniform Billing Form 04. In the case of physicians and other Providers supplying outpatient services, this reporting requirement shall include a CMS 1500 form.
- c. Prompt Payment. Unless the Payor denies liability for the Claim or, pursuant to Paragraph 803.06.e. of this rule, sends a Preliminary Objection, a Request for Clarification, or both, as to any charge, the Payor shall pay the charge within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the bill or upon acceptance of liability, if made after bill is received from Provider.
- **d.** Partial Payment. If the Payor acknowledges liability for the Claim and, pursuant to Paragraph 803.06.e. of this rule, sends a Preliminary Objection, a Request for Clarification, or both, as to only part of a Provider's bill, the Payor must pay the charge or charges, or portion thereof, as to which no Preliminary Objection or Request for Clarification has been made, within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the bill.
  - e. Preliminary Objections and Requests for Clarification. ( )
- i. Whenever a Payor objects to all or any part of a Provider's bill on the ground that such bill contains a charge or charges that do not comport with the applicable administrative rule, the Payor shall send a written Preliminary Objection to the Provider within thirty (30) calendar days of the Payor's receipt of the bill explaining the basis for each of the Payor's objections.
- ii. Where the Payor requires additional information, the Payor shall send a written Request for Clarification to the Provider within thirty (30) calendar days of the Payor's receipt of the bill, and shall specifically describe the information sought.
- iii. Each Preliminary Objection and Request for Clarification shall contain the name, address, and phone number of the individual located within the state of Idaho that the Provider may contact regarding the

# Please Return Proof to OARC by 5:00 p.m., Thursday, October 14, 2021

IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE Industrial Commission	IDAPA 17.01.01 – Administrative Rules Under the Worker's Compensation Law
Preliminary Objection or Request for Clarification.	( )
iv. Where a Payor does not send a Preliminary Objecting Clarification within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the bully Subparagraph 06.e.iii., it shall be precluded from objecting to sucadministrative rule.	ection to a charge set forth in a bill or a Request for bill, or provide an in-state contact in accord with the charge as failing to comport with the applicable ( )
f. Provider Reply to Preliminary Objection or Req	uest for Clarification. ( )
i. Where a Payor has timely sent a Preliminary Provider shall send to the Payor a written Reply, if any it has, with of each Preliminary Objection or Request for Clarification.	Objection, Request for Clarification, or both, the in thirty (30) calendar days of the Provider's receipt
ii. If a Provider fails to timely reply to a Preliminal acquiesced in the Payor's objection.	ry Objection, the Provider shall be deemed to have
iii. If a Provider fails to timely reply to a Request for pay or issue a Final Objection shall not begin to run until such clar	or Clarification, the period in which the Payor shall rification is received.
g. Payor Shall Pay or Issue Final Objection. The Pa or send to the Provider a written Final Objection, if any it has, to a of the Payor's receipt of the Reply.	ayor shall pay the Provider's bill in whole or in part ll or part of the bill within thirty (30) calendar days
<b>h.</b> Failure of Payor to Finally Object. Where the Pecharge or portion thereof to which it continues to have an object such charge as unacceptable.	ayor does not timely send a Final Objection to any on, it shall be precluded from further objecting to
i. Dispute Resolution Process. If, after completing Provider are unable to agree on the appropriate charge for any Me the applicable requirements of this rule may move the Commission Rule Re: Disputes Between Providers and Payors, as referenced motion disputing CPT or MS-DRG coded items prevails, Payor showed, plus an additional thirty percent (30%) of that amount associated with using the dispute resolution process. For motions MS-DRG codes, the additional thirty percent (30%) shall be due of within thirty (30) days of the administrative order.	In to resolve the dispute as provided in the Judicial in Paragraph 803.01.c. of this rule. If Provider's all pay the amount found by the Commission to be to compensate Provider for costs and expenses filed by a Provider disputing items without CPT or

**804. – 999.** (RESERVED)