
Registration Information 
To register for a Certified Idaho Workers’ Compensation Specialist (CIWCS) course, print, 
complete, and return this form as an email attachment to: CIWCSRegistration@iic.idaho.gov. 
If there is space remaining in the requested course, we will then send you an invoice.

Upcoming Dates:

2018
�� July 11, 18, 25, 26, 2018, Boise, Industrial Commission Main Office
�� September 11, 12, 13, 14, 2018, Post Falls
�� November 6, 7, 8, 9, 2018, Boise, Industrial Commission Main Office 

Course Selection:
�� Foundation 2-Day Course–$169.00

Appropriate for employers and medical providers (not available for adjusters or attorneys)
�� Advanced 4-Day Course–$249.00

Appropriate for those in the workers’ compensation industry

Tuition includes continental breakfast the first three days of class and lunch on days 2 and 3. Course 
outline and reference books, certificates of attendance and completion, 22 continuing education credits 
(includes 3 Ethics credits) from the Department of Insurance and 20 MCLE Credits (including 0.75 
ethics credits) from the Idaho State Bar Association (credits subject to change).

Attendee Information:
Name: __________________________________________________
Title: __________________________________________________
Email: __________________________________________________
Organization: __________________________________________________
Address: __________________________________________________

City: _______________________   State:     __________________

Zip: _______________________   Phone:  ___________________

Cancellations by attendees must be received by 
the Commission at least 20 days before the first 
class or tuition will not be refunded.  Course 
information, with location map, will be sent by 
email two weeks prior to the course date.

Registration is at 8:00 a.m. with classes from 
8:15 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on each of the first three 
days with class from 8:15 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. the 
fourth day. Lunch is from noon until 1:00 p.m., 
with lunch provided on the second and third day.
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Testimonials of Past Attendees: 
“This is such a great course! The CIWCS course 
provides a real world setting of workers’ 
compensation in a supportive and enthusiastic 
learning environment. The information presented is 
done in such a way where all who attend can
understand and benefit!” 
-HOLLY ALDERMAN, SEDGWICK

“The class exceeded my expectations and was 
incredibly helpful.”
–Emma Wilson, Partner at Breen Veltman Wilson

“Anyone who works with workers’ compensation
claims should attend this course. The information
provided is invaluable!”
-DEED HALL, NORTHERN LIGHTS

“This was a great class, I would definitely recom-
mend it to anyone that deals with comp (medical 
offices, employers, adjusters, attorneys, etc).”
–Stephen Nemec, Attorney, Vernon & Weeks, PA

Levels of Certification 
We offer two levels of certification, with 
the respective curricula as follows:

FOUNDATION LEVEL (2 DAY COURSE; NOT 
AVAILABLE FOR ATTORNEYS OR PROFES-
SIONAL ADJUSTERS)
�� Review of statutes and decisions
�� Compensability
�� Claims reporting requirements
�� Medical fee payments and disputes
�� Lump sum settlements (LSS)
�� Change of Physician
�� Subrogation

Attendees signing up for the Foundation 
Level and passing the final exam with 
85% or higher will be recognized as a 
“Certified Idaho Workers’ Compensation 
Specialist–Foundation Level,” for a period 
of three years.

ADVANCED LEVEL (4 DAY COURSE)
In addition to the Foundation Level, the 
Advanced Level curriculum includes:

�� Average weekly wage/income benefit 
calculations

�� Disability (temporary, permanent, 
partial, total)

�� Permanent Partial Impairment and 
Disability-In-Excess

�� Death benefits, second injury fund
�� Attorney fee regulations

Attendees signing up for the Advanced 
Level and passing the final exam with 
85% or higher will be recognized as a 
“Certified Idaho Workers’ Compensation 
Specialist–Advanced Level,” for a period 
of three years.

About Our Instructors
Jennifer Poole graduated from Boise 
State University in 1993. She is a 
Program Analyst in the Claims and 
Benefits Department and has been with 
the Industrial Commission for over 10 
years. She is also an Idaho Certified 
Professional Mediator and adjunct faculty 
at Boise State. 

Richelle Flores is a certification 
instructor for the Idaho Industrial 
Commission’s CIWCS course. She has 
worked with the Industrial Commission 
for more than eight years. She oversees 
Quality Assurance for the Claims section, 
and serves as a Benefit Analyst in the 
Claims and Benefits Department.

Michelle Wong has a bachelor’s degree 
from Boise State University.   She has 
over twenty years of experience as an 
automobile injury claims handler.  She 
is the Medical Program Analyst in 
the Claims and Benefits Department, 
overseeing the Medical Fee Schedule and 
Medical Fee Dispute program.

Kate Miller has 18 years of experience 
interpreting and applying Idaho’s 
Workers’ Compensation Laws as an 
Industrial Commission Employer 
Compliance Representative. She is a 
Certified Public Manager who currently 
serves as a Benefits Analyst and the 
Employer Education Coordinator for the 
Claims and Benefits Department.

Prior Course Co-Sponsors
�� Active Hand and Physical Rehabilitation
�� Bonner General Hospital
�� Intermountain Spine and  

Orthopaedics
�� Kootenai Occupational Medicine
�� North Idaho Medical Care Center
�� Portneuf Medical Center WorkMed
�� St. Luke’s/Idaho Elks Rehabilitation 

Services
�� Gritman Medical Center
�� Clearwater Paper Corporation
�� St. Joseph’s Regional Medical Center
�� Magic Valley RMC Occupational 

Health
�� Mountain West Hospital -  

Occupational Health
�� CH2M-WG Idaho, LLC


