O 803. MEDICAL FEES

01. General Provisions for Medical Fees. The following provisions shall apply to
Commission approval of claims for medical benefits.

a. Acceptable Charge. Payors shall pay providers the acceptable charge for medical
Services-provided-by-physicians——(4-7-11}.

b. Coding. The Commission will generally follow the coding guidelines published
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and by the American Medical Association,
including the use of modifiers.

C. Disputes. Disputes between providers and payors are governed by Subsection 06
of this rule and JRP 19.

d. Outside of Idaho. Reimbursement for medical services provided outside the state
of Idaho may be based upon the agreement of the parties. If there is no agreement, services shall

be paid in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule in effect in the state in which
services are rendered. If there is no fee schedule in effect in such state, or if the fee schedule in

that state does not allow reimbursement for the services rendered, reimbursement shall be paid in
accordance with these rules.

02. Acceptable Charges For Medical Services Provided By Physicians Under The
Idaho Workers' Compensation Law.

a0

———02  AdoptienofStandard for Physicians— The Commission kereby-adopts the Resource-
Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS), published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, as amended, as the
standard to be used ferdeterminingtheto determine acceptable charge formedical servicesprovided
underthe ldaho Werkers' CompensationLawcharges by physicians.—{4-7-11)

b. Modifiers. Modifiers for physicians will be reimbursed as follows:

i. Modifier 50: Additional fifty percent (50%) for bilateral procedure.

i. Modifier 51: Fifty percent (50%) of secondary procedure. This modifier will be

applied to each medical or surgical procedure rendered during the same session as the primary
rocedure.




iii. Modifier 80: Twenty-five percent (25%) of coded procedure.

iv. Modifier 81: Fifteen percent (15%) of coded procedure. This modifier applies to
MD and non-MD assistants.

—03 Conversion Factors. The follewingconversionfactorsshall-beapplied-to-the total
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servicestandard for determining the acceptable charge for a medical service, identified by a code
assigned to that service in the latest edition of the Rhysicians' Current Procedural Terminology
{Physician’s CPT};, published by the American Medical Association, as amended, is calculated
by the application of the total facility or non-facility RVU for services as determined by place of
service in the latest RBRVS in effect on the first day of January of the current calendar year, to

the following corresponding conversion factors. The procedure with the largest RVU will be the
primary procedure and will be listed first on the claim form.:

MERICAREESCEER L E

MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULE

SERVICE CONVERSI
CATEGOR |CODE RANGE(S) |DESCRIPTION ON

Y FACTOR
Anesthesia |00000 - 09999 Anesthesia $60.33

22000 - 22999 Spine

23000 - 24999 Shoulder, Upper Arm, & Elbow
25000 - 27299 Forearm, Wrist, Hand, Pelvis & Hip
Surgery - 27300 - 27999 Leg, Knee, & Ankle

Group One 29800 - 29999 Endoscopy & Arthroscopy $135.00
61000 - 61999 Skull, Meninges & Brain
62000 - 62259 Repair, Neuroendoscopy & Shunts
63000 - 63999 Spine & Spinal Cord

Surgery - 28000 - 28999 Foot & Toes $124.00

Group Two | 64550 - 64999 Nerves & Nervous System




10000 - 19999 Integumentary System

20000 - 21999 Musculoskeletal System

29000 - 29799 Casts & Strapping

30000 - 39999 Respiratory & Cardiovascular
Surgery - 40000 - 49999 Digestive System $88.54
Group Three 50000 - 59999 Urinary System '

60000 - 60999 Endocrine System

62260 - 62999 Spine & Spinal Cord

64000 - 64549 Nerves & Nervous System

65000 - 69999 Eye & Ear
Radiology |70000 - 79999 Radiology $88.54
Pathology & i To Be
Laboratory 80000 - 89999 Pathology & Laboratory Determined

ooo00-sarap | Tl s & fsion
Medicine - 194000 - 94999 | o) Medicine & Rehabilitation | $49.00
Group One 197000 - 97799 Acupuncture, Osteopathy, &

97800 - 98999 Upuncture, pathy.

Chiropractic
i Psychiatry & Medicine

90750 - 92999 Cardiography, Catheterization, Vascular
Medicine - | 22000 - 93999 Studies

95000 - 96020 $70.00
Group Two Allergy / Neuromuscular Procedures

96040 - 96999 .

99000 - 99607 Assessments & Special Procedures

E / M & Miscellaneous Services
7115}
04d. Anesthesiology. The Conversion Factor for the Anesthesiology CPT Codes shall

be multlplled by the current Anesthe5|a Base Units assrgned to that CPT Code by the Centersfor

%eﬁth&pre\%eateﬂdar—yearCMS plus the allowable t|me unlts reported for the procedure

Time units are computed by dividing reported time by fifteen (15) minutes. Time units will not
be used for CPT Code 01996. {4-7-11)

e. Services Without CPT Code, RVU or Conversion Factor. The acceptable
charge for medical services that do not have a current CPT code, a currently assigned RVU, or a
conversion factor will be the reasonable charge for that service, based upon the usual and
customary charge and other relevant evidence, as determined by the Commission. Where a




service with a CPT Code, RVU, and conversion factor is, nonetheless, claimed to be exceptional
or unusual, the Commission may, notwithstanding the conversion factor for that service set out in
Subsection-031.03Paragraph 02.c, above, determine the acceptable charge for that service, based

on all relevant evidence in accordance with the procedures set out in Section-035,-below—{3-20-
14)Subsection 06, below.

— 08 Medicine Dispensed by Physicians. Reimbursement to physicians for any
medicine shall not exceed the acceptable charge calculated for that medicine as if provided by a
pharmacy under Seetien-033Subsection 04 of this rule without a dispensing or compounding fee.
Reimbursement to physicians for repackaged medicine shall be the Average-Whelesale-Price
{AWP} for the medicine prior to repackaging, identified by the Natienal-BrugCode{NDC) reported
by the original manufacturer. Reimbursement may be withheld until the original manufacturer's

NatienalDrug Code (NDC) is provided by the physician.——7-1-13}

q. Adjustment of Conversion Factors. The conversion factors set out in this rule
may be adjusted each fiscal year (FY) by the Commission to reflect changes in inflation or
market conditions in accordance with Section 72-803, Idaho Code,

03032. Acceptable Charges For Medical Services Provided By Hospitals And
Ambulatory Surgery Centers Under The Idaho Workers' Compensation Law.




— 02— Mdeption-of Standardsfor Hospitals-and-ASCs. The following standards shall be used
to determine the acceptable charge for hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers. {1-1-12}

a. Critical Access Hospitals. The standard for determining the acceptable charge
for inpatient and outpatient services provided by a critical access hospital is ninety percent (90%)
of the reasonable charge. Implantable hardware charges shall be reimbursed at the rate of the
actual cost plus fifty percent (50%).—7-1-16)

b. Hospital Inpatient Services. The standard for determining the acceptable charge
for inpatient services provided by hospitals, other than critical access hospitals, is calculated by
multiplying the base rate by the current MS-DRG weight for that service. The base rate for
inpatient services is ten thousand two hundred dollars ($10,200). Inpatient services that do not
have a relative weight shall be paid at eighty-five percent (85%) of the reasonable charge;
however, implantable hardware charges billed for services without an MS-DRG weight shall be
reimbursed at the rate of actual cost plus fifty percent (50%).——(7-1-16}

C. Hospital Outpatient and Ambulatery-Surgical-Center {ASC) Services. The
standard for determining the acceptable charge for outpatient services provided by hospitals

(other than critical access hospitals) and for services provided by ambulaterysurgicalcentersASCs

is calculated by multiplying the base rate by the Medicare Hospital Outpatient Prospective

Payment System {©rrS}APC weight in effect on the first day of January of the current calendar

year. The base rate for hospital outpatient services is one hundred forty dollars and seventy-five

cents ($140.75). The base rate for ASC services is ninety-one dollars and fifty cents ($91.50).
116}

I. Medical services for which there is no APC weight listed shall be reimbursed at
seventy-five percent (75%) of the reasonable charge. 7-1-12}

ii. Status code N items or items with no CPT or Healthcare Common Procedure
Coding System (HCPCS) code shall receive no payment except as provided in Subsection
032.02Subparagraph 03.c.ii.(1)) or 632.0203.c.ii.(2}:) of this rule. {(7-1-15)

1) Implantable Hardware may be eligible for separate payment under Subsection
032.02Subparagraph 03.e.iii. of this rule. {(7-1-15)

@) Outpatient laboratory tests provided with no other hospital outpatient service on
the same date, or outpatient laboratory tests provided on the same date of service as other
hospital outpatient services that are clinically unrelated may be paid separately if billed with



modifier L1. Payment shall be made in the same manner that services with no APC weight are
paid under Subsection-032.02Subparagraph 03.c.i. of this rule.——7-1-15}

iii. When no medical services with a status code J1 appears on the same claim, two
(2) or more medical procedures with a status code T on the same claim shall be reimbursed with
the highest weighted code paid at one hundred percent (100%) of the APC calculated amount
and all other status code T items paid at fifty percent (50%). When a medical service with a
status code J1 appears on the same claim, all medical services with a status code T shall be paid

at fifty percent (50%).{7-1-16}

iv. When no medical services with a status code J1 appears on the same claim, status
code Q items with an assigned APC weight will not be discounted. When a medical service with
a status code J1 appears on the same claim, status code Q items shall be paid at fifty percent

(50%). {7-1-16)

—e d. Additional Hospital Payments. When the charge for a medical service
provided by a hospital (other than a critical access hospital) meets the following standards,
additional payment shall be made for that service, as indicated. #-1-16)

I. Inpatient Threshold Exceeded. When the charge for a hospital inpatient MS-
DRG coded service exceeds the sum of thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) plus the payment
calculated under the provisions of Subparagraph-032.02Paragraph 03.b. of this rule, then the total
payment for that service shall be the sum of the MS-DRG payment and the amount charged
above that threshold multiplied by seventy-five percent (75%). Implantable charges shall be
excluded from the calculation for an additional inpatient payment under this Subparagraph.
—3-312

ii. Inpatient Implantable Hardware. Hospitals may seek additional reimbursement
beyond the MSDRG payment for invoiced implantable hardware where the aggregate invoice
cost is greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000). Additional reimbursement shall be the
invoice cost plus an amount which is equal to ten percent (10%) of the invoice cost, but which
does not exceed three thousand dollars ($3,000). Handling and freight charges shall be included

in invoice cost.——4-1-12)

iii. Outpatient Implantable Hardware. Hospitals and ASCs may seek additional
reimbursement beyond the APC payment for invoiced implantable hardware where the aggregate
invoice cost is greater than five hundred dollars ($500). Additional reimbursement shall be the
invoice cost plus an amount which is equal to ten percent (10%) of the invoice cost, but which



does not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000). Handling and freight charges shall be included in
invoice cost.—{1-1-12}

—— 05 e. Adjustment of Hospital and ASC Base Rates. The Commission may
periodically adjust the base rates set out in Subparagraphs-032.02Paragraphs 03.b. and 932.0203.c.
of this rule to reflect changes in inflation or market conditions. -1-12)

033  04.  Acceptable Charges For Medicine Provided By Pharmacies.

—— 02— Mdeption-of StandardsforPharmacies: The following standards shall be used to
determine the acceptable charge for medicine provided by pharmacies.——7-1-13)

a. Brand/Trade Name Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable
charge for brand/trade name medicine shall be the Average Whelesale-Price {AWPY,, plus a five
dollar ($5) dispensing fee.—{3-20-14)

b. Generic Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for
generic medicine shall be the Average Whelesale-Price {AWP};, plus an eight dollar ($8) dispensing
fee.—{3-20-14)

C. Compound Medicine. The standard for determining the acceptable charge for
compound medicine shall be the sum of the Average WhelesalePrice {AWRIAWP for each drug
included in the compound medicine, plus a five dollar ($5) dispensing fee and a two dollar ($2)



compounding fee. All components of the compound medicine shall be identified by their original
manufacturer's Natienal-Brug Code {NDC) when submitted for reimbursement. Payors may
withhold reimbursement until the original manufacturer's NDC assigned to each component of
the compound medicine is provided by the pharmacy. Components of a compound medicine
without an NDC may require medical necessity confirmation by the treating physician prior to

reimbursement.———{7-1-13)

d. Prescribed Over-the Counter {oTc)-Medicine. The standard for determining the
acceptable charge for prescribed over-the-counter {oFc}-medicine filled by a pharmacy shall be
the reasonable charge plus a two dollar ($2) dispensing fee.<{2-20-14)

034 05.  Acceptable Charges For Medical Services Provided By Other Providers
Under The Idaho Workers' Compensation Law.

— 02— Mdeption-of Standard- The standard for determining the acceptable charge for
providers other than physicians, hospitals or ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs) shall be the

reasonable charge.—{4-7-11)

035 06. Billing And Payment Requirements For Medical Services And Procedures
Preliminary To Dispute Resolution.

Gemmrssrea—he#eby—wemu—lga%es—thrs—rule—ge%&#m-ng Thls rule governs bllllng and payment

requirements for medical services provided under the Workers' Compensation Law and the



procedures for resolving disputes between payors and providers over those bills or payments.
— 4711

62a. Time Periods. None of the periods herein shall begin to run before the Notice of
Injury/Claim for Benefits has been filed with the Employer as required by law.—4-7-11}

03b. Provider to Furnish Information. A Provider, when submitting a bill to a Payor,
shall inform the Payor of the nature and extent of medical services furnished and for which the
bill is submitted. This information shall include, but is not limited to, the patient’s name, the
employer’s name, the date the medical service was provided, the diagnosis, if any, and the
amount of the charge or charges. Failure to submit a bill complying with this Subsection
035-03Paragraph 06.b to the Payor within one hundred twenty (120) days of the date of service
will result in the ineligibility of the Provider to utilize the dispute resolution procedures of the
Commission set out in Subsection-035.10Paragraph 06.i for that service.——(7-1-13}

al. A Provider’s bill shall, whenever possible, describe the Medical Service provided,

using the American Medical Association’s appropriate Current-Precedural Terminelogy{CPT)
coding, including modifiers, the appropriate Healthcare Commen-Procedure Coding System
{HCPCS) code, the diagnostic and procedure code set version required by cMs and the original

National-Drug Code{NDC) for the year in which the service was performed.-{7-1-13}

bii.  The bill shall also contain the name, address and telephone number of the
individual the Payor may contact in the event the Payor seeks additional information regarding

the Provider’s bill.—4-7-11)

elii.  If requested by the Payor the bill shall be accompanled by a written report as
defined by 5 M :
eempensatmmk-—eenetmbseenen%%raqraph 10 30 and requwed by Sectlon 404.
Where a bill is not accompanied by such Report, the periods expressed in Subsections-035.04-and
035-Paragraph 06.c and 06.e, below, shall not begin to run until the Payor receives the Report.
—F13)

o04c.  Prompt Payment. Unless the Payor denies liability for the claim or, pursuant to
Subsectien035.Paragraph 06.e, below, sends a Preliminary Objection, a Request for Clarification,
or both, as to any charge, the Payor shall pay the charge within thirty (30) calendar days of
receipt of the bill or upon acceptance of liability, if made after bill is received from Provider.
—F15

osd. Partial Payment. If the Payor acknowledges liability for the claim and, pursuant
to Subsectien-035.-Paragraph 06.e, below, sends a Preliminary Objection, a Request for
Clarification, or both, as to only part of a Provider’s bill, the Payor must pay the charge or
charges, or portion thereof, as to which no Preliminary Objection or Request for Clarification has
been made, within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the bill. —(7-1-13}

ose.  Preliminary Objections and Requests for Clarification.—{4-7-11)



al. Whenever a Payor objects to all or any part of a Provider’s bill on the ground that
such bill contains a charge or charges that do not comport with the applicable administrative rule,
the Payor shall send a written Preliminary Objection to the Provider within thirty (30) calendar
days of the Payor’s receipt of the bill explaining the basis for each of the Payor’s objections.
—4-71h

bii.  Where the Payor requires additional information, the Payor shall send a written
Request for Clarification to the Provider within thirty (30) calendar days of the Payor’s receipt of
the bill, and shall specifically describe the information sought.——4-7-11)

elii.  Each Preliminary Objection and Request for Clarification shall contain the name,
address, and phone number of the individual located within the state of Idaho that the Provider
may contact regarding the Preliminary Objection or Request for Clarification.——{4-7-11)

div.  Where a Payor does not send a Preliminary Objection to a charge set forth in a bill
or a Request for Clarification within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the bill, or provide an
in-state contact in accord with Subsection-035.Subparagraph 06.e.iii., it shall be precluded from
objecting to such charge as failing to comport with the applicable administrative rule.——7-1-13}

o7f.  Provider Reply to Preliminary Objection or Request for Clarification.{4-7-11)

al. Where a Payor has timely sent a Preliminary Objection, Request for Clarification,
or both, the Provider shall send to the Payor a written Reply, if any it has, within thirty (30)
calendar days of the Provider’s receipt of each Preliminary Objection or Request for

Clarification.—4-7-11}

bil. If a Provider fails to timely reply to a Preliminary Objection, the Provider shall be
deemed to have acquiesced in the Payor’s objection.{4-7-11}

eiii.  If a Provider fails to timely reply to a Request for Clarification, the period in
which the Payor shall pay or issue a Final Objection shall not begin to run until such clarification

is received.—4-7-11}

0gg. Payor Shall Pay or Issue Final Objection. The Payor shall pay the Provider’s
bill in whole or in part or shall send to the Provider a written Final Objection, if any it has, to all
or part of the bill within thirty (30) calendar days of the Payor’s receipt of the Reply. ——{4-7-11)

osh. Failure of Payor to Finally Object. Where the Payor does not timely send a
Final Objection to any charge or portion thereof to which it continues to have an objection, it
shall be precluded from further objecting to such charge as unacceptable.—4-7-11}

10i.  Dispute Resolution Process. If, after completing the applicable steps set forth
above, a Payor and Provider are unable to agree on the appropriate charge for any Medical
Service, a Provider which has complied with the applicable requirements of this rule may move
the Commission to resolve the dispute as provided in the Judicial Rule Re: Disputes Between
Providers and Payors, as referenced in Seetiens031,032-033 and-034Paragraph 01.c of this rule.



If Provider's motion disputing CPT or MS-DRG coded items prevails, Payor shall pay the

amount found by the Commission to be owed, plus an additional thirty percent (30%) of that

amount to compensate Provider for costs and expenses associated with using the dispute

resolution process. For motions filed by a Provider disputing items without CPT or MS-DRG

codes, the additional thirty percent (30%) shall be due only if the Payor does not pay the amount
| found due within thirty (30) days of the administrative order. {7-113)



