Certified Idaho Workers’ Compensation Specialist course

CIWCS

The Idaho Industrial Commission has developed a series of courses for workers’ compensation adjusters and other professionals. Register now and become an Idaho Certified Workers’ Compensation Specialist (CIWCS).

This Foundation Course is designed for employers or medical providers who want to expand their knowledge of the workers’ compensation system.

For adjusters and attorneys wishing to take our CIWCS course, the Advanced Courses cover all concepts discussed in the Foundation Level Course in addition to benefits eligibility requirements and computations.

Please contact Angie Howe CIWCSRegistration@iic.idaho.gov (208-334-6004) with registration questions.

Foundation Level Course

       
Course Date Location Test Date      

2024

         
July 16 & 17th
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
In Person
Chinden Campus – Boise, ID
July 17      
Recommended for Employers and Medical Providers
  • Review of statutes and decisions
  • Compensability
  • Claims reporting requirements
  • Medical fee payments and disputes
  • Settlements
  • Change of Physician
  • Subrogation

Attendees signing up for the Foundation Level and passing the final exam with 85% or higher will be recognized as a “Certified Idaho Workers’ Compensation Specialist–Foundation Level,” for a period of three years.

Tuition includes course outline and reference materials, certificates of attendance and completion and 8 PDCs from SHRM.

$155

Register for a Foundation Level Course

   
           

Advanced Level Course

       
Course Date Location Test Date      

2024

         
March 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, & 14
9 am to 1 pm
Zoom March 15      
 April 30, May 1 & 2
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
In Person
Chinden Campus – Boise, ID
May 3      
 September 17-19
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
In Person
Chinden Campus – Boise, ID
September 20      
Recommended for Adjusters and Attorneys

In addition to the Foundation Level, the Advanced Level curriculum includes:

  • Average weekly wage/income benefit calculations
  • Disability (temporary, permanent, partial, total)
  • Permanent Partial Impairment and Disability-In-Excess
  • Death benefits, second injury fund
  • Attorney fee regulations

Attendees signing up for the Advanced Level and passing the final exam with 85% or higher will be recognized as a “Certified Idaho Workers’ Compensation Specialist–Advanced Level,” for a period of three years.

Tuition includes course outline and reference materials, certificates of attendance and completion, 22 continuing education credits (includes 3 Ethics credits) from the Department of Insurance, 12.5 PDCs from SHRM, and 17.5 (including 0.75 ethics credits) MCLE Credits from the Idaho State Bar Association (credits subject to change).

Attendance at all sessions is required for CEUs, PDCs, and CLEs.

$235

Register for a Advanced Level Course

   
           

Recertification

  Register for Recertification    

Download a Flyer Form

Download CIWCS Flyer Form

ver: 3.5.1 | last updated: